Resolution

No. _____

CONGRATULATING THE MAUI HIGH SCHOOL "SABER" MARCHING BAND AND COLOR GUARD FOR WINNING TOP HONORS AT THE 19TH ANNUAL MILILANI HIGH SCHOOL TROJAN BANDFEST

WHEREAS, on November 7, 2015, the Maui High School "Saber" Marching Band and Color Guard claimed top honors at the 19th Annual Mililani High School Trojan Bandfest held at the John Kauinana Stadium at Mililani High School on Oahu; and

WHEREAS, the 140-member Band and Color Guard competed against 3 Oahu schools within the competition's AAA Class, a division consisting of 100 plus performers, successfully garnering the coveted top honor Sweepstakes award for a fifth year; and

WHEREAS, the Band and Color Guard's victories included firstplace finishes in all three judged categories consisting of visual – awarded for outstanding visual artistry, technique and accuracy; music – awarded based upon achievements in sound quality, intonation and accuracy; and the general effects category – awarded based on elements on the field and emotional impact of a band's performance; and

WHEREAS, the "Saber" Marching Band and Color Guard achieved an overall festival rating of "Superior", which is based upon a band's collective achievements in visual performance, musical performance and general effects; and

WHEREAS, the 2015-2016 Maui High School "Saber" Marching Band consists of 37 Woodwinds – featuring by instrument – 6 flute musicians – Rebecca Bowker, Denise Galano, Marelle Ota, Princess Pascua, Jhasmine Viloria and Kylee Jaye Yagi; 18 clarinet musicians – Beverly Anne Andaya, Erica Aquino, Levin Bonilla, Marcil Choun, Danny Domingo, Jessica Mae Doronio, Alisson Fabian, Diana Faulve, Aaron-Johnathan Gilo, Courtney Humber, Elijah April Iniba, Blessing Morales, Allyka Padilla, Jolene Mae Pascua, Amber Rayray, Margaret Rodriguez-

Resolution No. _____

Olter, Frances Tamayo, Katrina Tolentino; 9 alto saxophone musicians – Zeatrix Calma, Dean Cordero, Mario Cortes, Zayla Emoto, Cailin Kagehiro, Mason MacDonald, Cameron Jacob Magarin, Charlize Esther Shaw, George Villanueva; and 4 tenor saxophone musicians– Asher Aspili, Paxton Badillo, Cira Bartolotti, Chanelle Green; and

WHEREAS, 38 Brasses - featuring by instrument - 14 trumpet musicians – Michael Abut, Micah Balmores, Dylan Bonofiglio, Edgar Flores-Duarte, Mitchell Gray, Paco Hipolito, Briana Lazo-Corado, Kade MacDonald, Dylan Manibog, Nathaniel Pacubas, Stacie Saito, Katie Stevens, Michael Stevens and Payton Viloria; 5 mellophone musicians – Edrick Cabato, Hailey Chun, Jeb Rulloda, Mariella Torres and Thea Kiara Vinoray; 14 baritone musicians – Harmon Jay Arconado, CJ Bolusan, Jett Bolusan, Carl Elaydo, Camryn Enriquez, Renator Galapon, Jordan Hiroshi, Mailah Kauvaka-Vaaimamao, Christian Mailem, Kaleb Makimoto, Paul John Pollante, Brycen Queyquep, Eric Yadao and Vincent Zerna; and 5 tuba musicians – Melissa Agtunong, Branson Estrada, Joshua Fontanilla, Ernest Nico Manibog and Jhommel Tiri; and

WHEREAS, 21 Percussionist featuring by instrument – 4 snare musicians – Andrei Dela Cruz, Champ Andrei Foronda, Casey Gamurot and Aimee Nathan; 3 tenor musicians – DJ Caoile, Tyler John Cup Choy and Jayden Kanohokula; 5 bass musicians – Francis Rj Dumelod, Dalton Honda-Kaupe, Sahan Lang, Shaelyn Moracco and Denise Ocampo; and 9 front ensemble msuicians – Bramwell Abner, Jaron Boco-Damaso, Kelsey Eugenio, Megan King, Renee Maatsuda, Danlee Nono, Maui Parilla, Keana Skeie and Alyssa Yoshimura; and

WHEREAS, completing the line-up of stellar musicians includes a violin soloist – Nicole Yuzon and 3 drum majors – Wailana Kauai, Naomi Tabangcura and Emily Tsuhako; and

WHEREAS, 40 performers comprise the Color Guard component featuring Kyle Nadine Acorda, Ariane Alejo, Shanelle Ancheta, Ashley Andres, Jasmine Baisa, Yuneza Bareng, Nya Shayla Cachola, Gim Cadiente, Courtney Cadiz, Franchezka Castillo, Abigail Cayetano, Jada Chang, Alma Chavarria, Courtney Corpuz, Bonnie BJ Daoatan, Darlyn Dayoan, Camille Domingo, Jonel Dumelod, Andrell Elvena, Joshua Esponilla, Emma Galario-Guzman, Laitlyn Galloway, Jaydee Gimeno, Amber Humber, Arianna Iniba, Janie Jowell, Kawena Kekuewa, Kateleen Lamog, Alyssa Otsubo, Alexandra Papagayo, Khryss Pastor, Ysanne Sanchez, Niki Sato, Jaden Segundo, Jordan Siores, Keely Takayama, Bandilyn Tesoro, Briana Topinio, Shantel Torio and Summer Yanos; and

WHEREAS, with the support and dedication of numerous advisors, parents and the community as a whole, the Maui High School "Saber" Marching Band and Color Guard has attained excellence through commitment and love of the art; and

WHEREAS, the exceptional performance, dedication and team spirit of the Maui High School "Saber" Marching Band and Color Guard have brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the Maui High School "Saber" Marching Band and Color Guard for capturing the First Place Sweepstakes Award in the AAA Division at the 19th Annual Mililani High School Trojan Bandfest; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to each "Saber" Marching Band and Color Guard member, Kerry Wasano, Band Director; Kristin Tanaka, Assistant Band Director; Randy Isokane, Woodwinds Instructor; Robert King, Color Guard Choreographer and Caption Head, Ty Lim, Percussion Caption Head; Kohei Mizushima, Percussion Composer; Juan Carlos Caceres, Visual and Drill Design; Doug Thrower, Music Composer; Vince Oliver, Music Coordinator, Melissa Agtunong, Band President; Dennis Galloway, Band Booster President; Alvin Shima, Baldwin-Kekaulike-Maui Complex Area Superintendent, Maui district Office, State Department of Education; Bruce Anderson, Principal, Maui High School; Lieutenant Governor Shan Tsutsui; and Honorable Mayor Alan Arakawa.

reso:15-16reso:15-228a:klk