Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Tom Cook
Gabe Johnson
Tamara Paltin
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez
Shane M. Sinenci
Nohelani Uʻu-Hodgins



Deputy Director of Council Services Richelle K. Kawasaki, Esq.

Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

August 30, 2024

Mr. Jason Stone, Chair and Members of the Independent Nomination Board County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Via Email: Board.INB@mauicounty.gov

Dear Chair Stone and Members of the Independent Nomination Board:

SUBJECT: **INDEPENDENT NOMINATION BOARD** (GREAT-5(7))

At its meeting of September 12, 2024 at 1:30 p.m., the Maui County Council's Government Relations, Ethics, and Transparency Committee intends to discuss the Independent Nomination Board ("INB").

May I please request a representative from the INB attend the meeting, either virtually or in person.

May I please also request a response to the following:

- 1. Will the INB notify the Maui County Council when a list of nominees for boards and commissions are sent to the Mayor's office? Will the INB also send the Council vacancy notices when resignation letters are received by the Mayor's office?
- 2. INB meeting minutes have not been posted on the County of Maui's website. May I please ask you to transmit copies of the minutes for all INB meetings and to upload the minutes to the website so they are publicly available?

Chair Stone and Members of the Independent Nomination Board August 30, 2024 Page 2

May further request you transmit your response to great.committee@mauicounty.us by 12:00 p.m. on September 12, 2024. ensure efficient processing, please include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Kasie Apo Takayama at ext. 7665, Clarissa MacDonald at ext. 7135, or Pauline Martins at ext. 8039).

Sincerely,

NOHELANI U'U-HODGINS, Chair

Government Relations, Ethics, and

Transparency Committee

great:ltr:005(7)ainb01:clm

cc: Mayor Richard T. Bissen, Jr. Cory Vicens, Boards and Commissions Liaison