RICHARD T. BISSEN, JR. Mayor

> JOSIAH K. NISHITA Managing Director

JORDAN MOLINA Director

PAUL M. BARANY, P.E. Deputy Director

WADE SHIMABUKURO, P.E. Development Services Administration

RODRIGO "CHICO" R. RABARA, P.E. Engineering Division

> MICHAEL KINORES T/A Highways Division

Telephone: (808) 270-7845 Fax: (808) 270-7955





DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS COUNTY OF MAUI 200 SOUTH HIGH STREET, ROOM NO. 434 WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAI`1 96793 www.mauicounty.gov/publicworks

February 10, 2025

APPROVED FOR TRANSMITTAL

Honorable Richard T. Bissen, Jr. Mayor, County of Maui 200 South High Street Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii 96793

For Transmittal to:

Honorable Tamara Paltin, DRIP Committee Chair Maui County Council 200 South High Street Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii 96793

Dear Committee Chair Paltin:

SUBJECT: BILL 105 (2024) AMENDING SECTION 16.500.110, MAUI COUNTY CODE, REGARDING NONCONFORMITIES (DRIP-4)

The Department of Public Works (DPW) is in receipt of your letter dated February 6, 2025, regarding the subject matter above and offer the following response:

1. How does the Department envision the permit review process would be modified for these types of applications?

DPW's building code review is unaffected by the proposed bill.

 Under Bill 105, if a property owner wanted to repair or reconstruct their nonconforming structure, could the submittal form or application on Maui's Automated Planning and Permitting System be revised to facilitate the review process? Please explain.

MAPPS could be modified if necessary. DPW would defer to the Planning Department if modifications are necessary.

Honorable Richard T. Bissen, Jr. For Transmittal to: Honorable Tamara Paltin, DRIP Committee Chair February 10, 2025 Page 2

Should you have further questions, please contact me at 808-270-7845.

Sincerely,

Aoula Moline

JORDAN MOLINA Director of Public Works

JM:sec

PWADMIN\SUMMER\Council\Committees\DRIP\2025\Transmittal to CM Paltin DRIP-4 Bill 105 (2024).doc

## **DRIP Committee**

Michelle L. Santos <michelle.santos@co.maui.hi.us></michelle.santos@co.maui.hi.us>
Wednesday, February 12, 2025 9:33 AM
DRIP Committee
Cynthia E. Sasada; Erin A. Wade; Josiah K. Nishita; Kelii P. Nahooikaika; Jordan K. Molina;
Kaila K. Mafatini; Paul M. Barany; Summer K. Enfield-Carlos
MT#10944 Bill 105
MT#10944-DRIP Committee.pdf