# Resolution

## **No.** <u>24–147</u>

#### APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE FIRE AND PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WHEREAS, by correspondence dated August 19, 2024, Mayor Richard T. Bissen, Jr. notified the Council he nominated the persons listed in Exhibit "A," as attached, as members to the Fire and Public Safety Commission for the County of Maui, in accordance with Section 2.40.120, Maui County Code, and Sections 8-7.2 and 13-2, Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended ("Charter"); and

WHEREAS, Charter Section 13-2 requires the Mayor's nominees to be approved by the Council; and

WHEREAS, Charter Section 13-2(19) requires the Council to approve or disapprove the Mayor's nominations and shall act thereon within 30 days; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it approves the appointment of the persons listed in Exhibit "B," as attached, as members to the Fire and Public Safety Commission for the terms specified;
- 2. That it disapproves the appointment of the persons listed in Exhibit "C," as attached, as members to the Fire and Public Safety Commission as nominated by the Mayor;
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the appointed members for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor and the Managing Director.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:

<u>/s/Yukari Murakami</u> YUKARI MURAKAMI Deputy Corporation Counsel LF2024-0098 2024-07-19 Mass Nominations FPS Term Expire 2029-03-31.docx

## NOMINATED MEMBERS AND TERMS

#### Fire and Public Safety Commission

Lionel W. Montalvo (Replacing Bruce Hiwahiwa U'u) Term Expiration 3/31/2029

## APPROVED MEMBERS AND TERMS

# Fire and Public Safety Commission

Exhibit "B"

.

## **DISAPPROVED MEMBERS**

## Fire and Public Safety Commission

Exhibit "C"

•

•

INTRODUCED BY:

00

Upon the request of the Mayor.