Resolution

No. <u>25-117</u>

CONGRATULATING THE KAMEHAMEHA SCHOOLS MAUI GIRLS FLAG FOOTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE INAUGURAL MAUI INTERSCHOLASTIC LEAGUE FLAG FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, on August 1, 2024, the Hawai'i High School Athletic Association announced that girls flag football would be included in spring sports starting in 2025, making Hawai'i the 12th state to sanction it as a high school sport; and

WHEREAS, girls flag football provides an opportunity to empower current and future female athletes by furthering gender equity in high school athletics; and

WHEREAS, implementing girls flag football as a sanctioned high school sport advances the legacy of the Patsy Takemoto Mink Equal Opportunity in Education Act, also known as Title IX; and

WHEREAS, the Maui Interscholastic League fielded nine teams across Maui County in the 2025 girls flag football season; and

WHEREAS, after an undefeated regular season, the Kamehameha Schools Maui Warriors girls flag football team won the inaugural MIL Championship on April 19, 2025, at Kamehameha Schools Maui's Kana'iaupuni Stadium; and

WHEREAS, after trailing 7-0 in the championship game against Baldwin High School, the Warriors made a thrilling comeback and tied the game in the final moments of the fourth quarter, sending the game into overtime; and

WHEREAS, in the last seconds of the sixth overtime, Kamehameha Schools Maui scored the winning touchdown to claim the inaugural MIL girls flag football title with a thrilling, historic 13-7 victory; and WHEREAS, the Warriors then represented the MIL at the 2025 HHSAA Girls Flag Football State Championship Tournament on O'ahu; and

WHEREAS, the 2025 Kamehameha Schools Maui MIL Championship team consists of the following players:

Sofia Abernathy; Taylnn Kamea Abreu; Uilani Ahana: Eva Ane; Kayla Baptist; Kawena Cabanting: Ka'iewe De La Nux; Mylee Hamasaki; Journey Hett: Leimomi Hokoana-Molinas; Makea Ho'oikaika-Mansanas; Nevaeh Howard: Kau'i Joaquin; Leiah Ka'a'a: Mishalei Kapua'ala; Zaysha-Maelee Keawe: Evalani Keawekane; Kilihea Lee: Raejia-Li Librando; Selah Rain Librando: Ariana Oshiro; Tvra Shimizu: Rylee Souza; Myla Tuitele: and Brooklyn Urayanza; and

WHEREAS, the team's success can be attributed to the leadership and determination of Head Coach Stephen "Kaeo" Ripani; Assistant Coaches Malorie Chong, Joey Tamayose, and Clark Tuitele; Athletic Trainers Alika Asing, Erin Barnett, Larissa Jimenez, Rachel Jordan, and Sam Perdido; and Athletic Staff Kathleen Birmingham, Dorcas Cashman, Kyle Honda, Dayle Hoopii, Kamanā Kala, Ku'ulani Kamau, and Tanya Souza; and WHEREAS, the exceptional team spirit, hard work, discipline, and perseverance of the Kamehameha Schools Maui girls flag football team have brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it congratulates the Kamehameha Schools Maui girls flag football team for winning the Inaugural Maui Interscholastic League Flag Football Championship; and
- 2. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the team's players, coaches, athletic trainers, and athletic staff; Dr. Scott Parker, Po'o Kula, Kamehameha Schools Maui; Lance Cagasan, Po'o Mahele Luna, Kamehameha Schools Maui; Athletic Director Jon Viela and Associate Athletic Directors Michael Balangitao and Kaholo Rickard, Kamehameha Schools Maui; Joseph Balangitao, Jr., Executive Director, Maui Interscholastic League; and the Honorable Richard T. Bissen, Jr., Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:25-26Reso:25-123a:jpp

INTRODUCED BY:

Mohilani hin-tfodgins NOHELANI UU-HODGINS