Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Tom Cook
Gabe Johnson
Tamara Paltin
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez
Shane M. Sinenci
Nohelani Uʻu-Hodgins



Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services Richelle K. Kawasaki, Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

December 15, 2023

Mr. Shayne Agawa, Director Department of Environmental Management County of Maui Wailuku, Hawai'i 96793

Dear Director Agawa:

SUBJECT: UPDATES ON RECOVERY EFFORTS IN RESPONSE TO THE AUGUST 2023 WILDFIRES ON MAUI ISLAND

(DRIP-2(12))

At its meeting of December 13, 2023, the Council's Disaster, Resilience, International Affairs, and Planning Committee discussed the above-mentioned subject matter.

As a result of the discussion, may I please request your response to the following:

- 1. Please list the determining factors for selecting the final disposition site for debris resulting from the Lāhainā burn zones.
- 2. What entity or entities will choose the site and when will the decision on the site be made?

May I respectfully request your written response by **December 29, 2023.** To ensure efficient processing, please transmit your response to drip.committee@mauicounty.us and include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff Paige Greco at ext. 7660, or Maria Leon at ext. 7866.

Mr. Shayne Agawa December 15, 2023 Page 2

Sincerely,

Janus O. M. Baltin TAMARA PALTIN, Chair

Disaster, Resilience, International Affairs, and Planning Committee

drip:ltr:002(12)aem01:pmg

cc: Mayor Richard T. Bissen, Jr.