COUNTY COUNCIL

Mel Rapozo, Chair KipuKai Kuali'i, Vice Chair Addison Bulosan Bernard P. Carvalho, Jr. Felicia Cowden Bill DeCosta Ross Kagawa



Council Services Division 4396 Rice Street, Suite 209 Līhu'e, Kaua'i, Hawai'i 96766

October 21, 2024

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY CLERK

Jade K. Fountain-Tanigawa, County Clerk Lyndon M. Yoshioka, Deputy County Clerk

> Telephone: (808) 241-4188 Facsimile: (808) 241-6349 Email: cokcouncil@kauai.gov

Ms. Nohelani U'u-Hodgins, Chair Government Relations, Ethics, and Transparency Committee and Members of the Maui County Council Via Email to: <u>Great.Committee@mauicounty.us</u>

Dear Chairperson U'u-Hodgins and Members of the Maui County Council:

RE: SUPPORT FOR ITEM GREAT-23 REAPPOINTING MOANA LUTEY AS COUNTY CLERK AND RICHELLE THOMSON AS DEPUTY COUNTY CLERK

This letter is to convey my wholehearted support for the reappointment of Ms. Moana Lutey as County Clerk and Ms. Richelle Thomson as Deputy County Clerk for the County of Maui.

Ms. Lutey and Ms. Thomson provide the principled, stabilizing leadership necessary for the Office of the County Clerk to successfully administer the 2024 Elections. They are highly respected members of Hawai'i's close-knit community of election officials and I respectfully urge you to support their reappointment.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions or if I can be of assistance in any way.

Sincerely,

JADE K. FOUNTAIN-TANIGAWA County Clerk

cc: Alice Lee, Council Chair, <u>alice.lee@mauicounty.us</u>