Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Tom Cook
Gabe Johnson
Tamara Paltin
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez
Shane M. Sinenci
Nohelani Uʻu-Hodgins



Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services Richelle K. Kawasaki, Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

October 6, 2023

The Honorable Richard T. Bissen, Jr. Mayor, County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mayor Bissen:

SUBJECT: **POST-WILDFIRE ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES**

(ADEPT-1(10))

At its meeting of October 3, 2023, the Agriculture, Diversification, Environment, and Public Transportation Committee heard from a panel of ecological experts representing United States Geological Survey, West Maui Ridge to Reef Initiative, Maui Nui Marine Resource Council, and Maui Cultural Lands on environmental issues affecting the County as a result of the August 2023 Maui wildfires.

May I please request your response to the following:

- 1. Please explain the process for other government organizations and non-government organizations to collaborate with the Administration on the ecological response to the wildfires. Please indicate who these organizations may contact to begin collaboration.
- 2. Please identify the amount of County, State, and Federal funding available for organizations providing an ecological response to the wildfires, including whether additional funding is needed.

May I please further request you provide your response to adept.committee@mauicounty.us by **October 20, 2023**. To ensure efficient processing, please include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

The Honorable Richard T. Bissen, Jr. October 6, 2023 Page 2

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (James Krueger at ext. 7761, or Clarita Balala at ext. 7668).

Sincerely,

GABE JOHNSON, Chair

Agriculture, Diversification, Environment, and Public

Transportation Committee

adept:ltr:001(10)aom01:jgk

cc: Joshua Cooper, Economic Development Specialist, Office of the Mayor Tuki Drake, Economic Development Specialist, Office of the Mayor Kaiea Medeiros, Economic Development Specialist, Office of the Mayor