Resolution

No. 25-91

CONGRATULATING THE SEABURY HALL BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE DIVISION II STATE TITLE AT THE 2025 STATE BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIPS

WHEREAS, the Seabury Hall boys basketball team won the 2025 Division II State title at the Hawai'i High School Athletic Association's State Basketball Championships, February 19-21, 2025, in Honolulu, Hawai'i; and

WHEREAS, Seabury Hall's route to the State championship included a quarterfinal victory over Kaiser on February 19, 2025, and a semifinal win against Kohala on February 20, 2025, both at the Kaimuki High School Gym; and

WHEREAS, the Spartans secured their school's first boys basketball State title with a decisive 49-33 victory over Hawai'i Preparatory Academy at Stan Sheriff Center on February 21, 2025; and

WHEREAS, standout performances in the championship game included Bromo Dorn's 20 points, seven rebounds, two assists, and three steals, with no turnovers, and Sebastian Peterson's 17 points—along with seven rebounds, three assists, and two steals—including several clutch free throws to seal the win; and

WHEREAS, Bromo Dorn was voted by the media and HHSAA as the Most Outstanding Player, and Sebastian Peterson was selected to the All-Tournament Team;

WHEREAS, the team achieved a record-breaking 30-win season, the most in school history; and

WHEREAS, Seabury Hall's boys basketball team has demonstrated consistent improvement over recent years in State tournaments, placing fifth in 2023 and second in 2024 before winning the State championship this year; and

WHEREAS, the 2025 Seabury Hall championship team consists of:

Reagan Aguas,

Resolution No. 25-91

Jack Bendon, Aidan Childers. Duke Dodge, Bromo Dorn. Cash Driftmier. Elijah Gurley, Carson Hollifield, Dylan Maier, Soren Moog, Cian O'Dwyer, Sebastian Peterson, Miles Rappenecker, Carson Rosenthal. Nobu Shing, Keahi Sjostrand, and Bryson Tasaki; and

WHEREAS, the team's success owes much to the leadership and dedication of Head Coach Scott Prather, Assistant Coaches John Dudley, Kaleb Palmer, Justin Farmer, and Neil Yashiro, Athletic Trainer Kevin Yamashiro, and Strength & Conditioning Coach Melissa Rajesh; and

WHEREAS, the Seabury Hall community, including administration, faculty, parents, alumni, and supporters, also contributed to the team's success; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, teamwork, and sportsmanship of the Seabury Hall boys basketball team, with the support of their families and school community, have brought great pride to the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it congratulates the Seabury Hall boys basketball team for winning the Division II State title at the 2025 State Basketball Championships; and
- 2. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to team members and coaches; Maureen Madden, Head of School, Seabury Hall; Yacine Enriquez-Meyer, Athletic Director, Seabury Hall; Joseph Balangitao, Jr., Executive Director, Maui Interscholastic League; Christopher Chun, Executive Director,

Resolution No. 25-91

Hawai'i High School Athletic Association; and the Honorable Richard T. Bissen, Jr., Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:25-26Reso:25-072a:kes

INTRODUCED BY:

Mohulani hin-tholgins NOHELANI U'U-HODGINS