Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Gabe Johnson Kelly Takaya King Michael J. Molina Tamara Paltin Shane M. Sinenci Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



Director of Council Services Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

August 23, 2021

Ms. Rowena Dagdag-Andaya, Director Department of Public Works County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Ms. Dagdag-Andaya:

SUBJECT: MITIGATING MAKAWAO BASEYARD NEIGHBORHOOD IMPACTS (IT-67)

May I please request the following information as it relates to the Makawao Baseyard:

- 1. Please outline the steps the Department has taken to address noise and air pollution concerns raised by neighboring residents.
- 2. Please provide a list of potential expansion options, including an explanation of how the Department intends to meet the needs of a growing Upcountry community without negatively impacting residents living in closest proximity to the Baseyard.
- 3. Please provide a status update, including communication and coordination efforts with the Department of Environmental Management, regarding the possible usage of the decommissioned Makani Landfill for baseyard storage.
- 4. What are the Department's plans to replace or renovate baseyards built in the 1940s to ensure a safer working environment?

May I please request your written response by **September 1, 2021**. To ensure efficient processing, please transmit your response to <u>it.committee@mauicounty.us</u> and include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Ms. Rowena Dagdag-Andaya August 23, 2021 Page 2

If you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Laksmi Abraham at ext. 7659, Lesley Milner at ext. 7886, or Clarita Balala at ext. 7668).

Sincerely,

Yuki Sei K. Sugimula

YUKI LEI K. SUGIMURA, Chair Infrastructure and Transportation Committee

it:ltr:067apw01:lma

cc: Mayor Michael P. Victorino