### RECEIVED

### By Dept of the Corporation Counsel at 8:26 am, Dec 07, 2021

REQUEST FOR LEGAL

December 3, 2021

Date:

Attachment

From:	Michael J. Molina, Chair								
	Government Rela	Government Relations, Ethics, and Transparency Committee							
TRANSMITTAL Memo to:									
Subject: APPO	DINTMENTS TO PAIA	-HAIKU ADV	VISORY COMMI	TTEE (GREAT-34)					
Background D	ata: Please see the a	attached rev	ised resolution.	Please submit response to					
great.commi	ttee@mauicounty.us <u>v</u>	<u>with a referer</u>	ice to GREAT-34	1.					
Work Requeste	(X) FOR APPROVAL [ ] OTHER:	L AS TO FORM	AND LEGALITY						
Requestor's sig	gnature		Contact Person						
Michael J. I	Molina		Jerry Paredes (Telephone Extension	n: 7140)					
REASON: To m	OUE DATE (IF IMPOSED B leet posting deadline for Co	ouncil meeting	,	December 8, 2021 021.					
ASSIGNED TO:	KRW	ASSIGNMENT NO.	2021-23	BY: jcm for GMR					
TO REQUESTO.	APPROVE		HER (SEE COMMEN' OVIDE DETAILS REGA	TS BELOW) ARDING ITEMS AS NOTED					
COMMENTS (No	OTE - THIS SECTION NOT	TO BE USED FO	OR LEGAL ADVICE):						
	OF THE CORPORATION CO	DUNSEL							
Date Dec	cember 9, 2021		By Kide WA	et_					
			<u> </u>	(Rev. 7/03)					
great:ltr:034acc0	01:gap								

# Resolution

No.		

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES TO THE PAIA-HAIKU ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WHEREAS, under Section 2.28.050, Maui County Code, the Paia-Haiku Advisory Committee to the Maui Planning Commission, consists of seven members, where five members are appointed by the Council by resolution, and two members are appointed by the Mayor, and up to two alternates appointed by the Council by resolution; and

WHEREAS, each Advisory Committee member must be a resident of the Paia-Haiku Community Plan Area for a period of at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the person's appointment; and

WHEREAS, the terms of Advisory Committee members are five years, except initial terms must be staggered, with four members receiving five-year terms and three members receiving three-year terms, as selected by lot, and except that alternates have three-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Paia-Haiku Advisory Committee is authorized to provide recommendations to the Maui Planning Commission on matters within the Paia-Haiku Community Plan Area, hold public hearings on behalf of the Maui Planning Commission on matters pertaining to the Paia-Haiku Community Plan Area, and carry out duties as delegated by the Maui Planning Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Council's deadline to receive applications for consideration to the Paia-Haiku Advisory Committee was 4:30 p.m. on September 30, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the Council received 11 applications from residents of the Paia-Haiku Community Plan Area, as listed in Exhibit "B"; now, therefore,

	Resolut	cion	No.	
--	---------	------	-----	--

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it approves the appointment of the seven persons listed in Exhibit "A," as members and alternates, respectively, to the Paia-Haiku Advisory Committee to the Maui Planning Commission for terms to be selected by lot, commencing upon this Resolution's adoption;
- 2. That it requests that the Planning Director perform the term selection by lot and inform the Council of the resulting terms;
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the applicants for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Planning Director, Mayor, Managing Director, and the Corporation Counsel.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:

Deputy Corporation Counsel County of Maui

great:misc:034areso02:gap

Kede Worth

## APPOINTED MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES TO THE PAIA-HAIKU ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION

### **Advisory Committee Members**

Adrian Boone	
Lucienne de Naie	
Andrea Kealoha	
Rebecca O'Day	
Timothy Wolfe	
Alternates Matthew McDonald	
Nikhilananda	

### **APPLICANTS**

Francine Aarona Michael Baskin Adrian Boone Roger Clapp Lucienne de Naie Andrea Kealoha Matthew McDonald Peter Merriman Nikhilananda Rebecca O'Day Timothy Wolfe