Resolution

No.	

CONGRATULATING MAUI COUNTY WINNERS AT THE 2021 HAWAI'I ACADEMY OF RECORDING ARTS' NĀ HŌKŪ HANOHANO AWARDS

WHEREAS, the 44th Annual Hawai'i Academy of Recording Arts' Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards recognized the State's top musicians, songwriters, and other musical artists in 40 categories on October 7, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards were created to honor talented artists who help to perpetuate the Hawaiian culture through the creation of music: and

WHEREAS Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards finalists are selected by the more than 500 members of the Hawai'i Academy of Recording Arts; and

WHEREAS, Ekolu, a reggae group formed on Maui and whose members include Makapu Hoʻopii and Joshua Kahele, won Group of the Year and Reggae Album of the Year for their album "2020"; and

WHEREAS, Lukela Keala, Ekolu's co-founder and lead vocalist, was also awarded Male Vocalist of the Year and Island Music Album of the Year for his self-titled debut solo album, which was also his first Hawaiian-language recording; and

WHEREAS, Kaleo Phillips, a musician born and raised in Lahaina, won Contemporary Acoustic Album of the Year for "First Dance"; and

WHEREAS, two-time Grammy winner Kalani Pe'a, a Maui resident, was awarded Christmas Single of the Year for his unique version of "O Holy Night"; and

WHEREAS, Michael Casil of Maui won the Hawaiian Engineering Award for his work on Makamae Auwae's single "Lei Makamae"; and

ACSOIULIOII 110.	Resolution	No.	
------------------	------------	-----	--

WHEREAS, Kalani Miles, a musician and Maui County police officer, captured Hawaiian EP of the Year for "He Mele No Papa," an album of songs paying tribute to his late father; and

WHEREAS, all the distinguished awardees have bridged generations by perpetuating their love for the Hawaiian culture with their chosen artistic platform, touching many lives with their gifts of music and design; and

WHEREAS, the exceptional recognition received by these talented and dedicated artists has brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates Maui County winners at the 2021 Hawai'i Academy of Recording Arts' Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to Lukela Keala, Makapu Hoʻopii, Joshua Kahele, Kaleo Phillips, Kalani Peʻa, Michael Casil, Kalani Miles, and the Honorable Michael P. Victorino, Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:21-22reso:21-363a:gap

Resolution No	
INTRODUCED BY:	
Yuki Sei K. Bygimyka	