Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Gabe Johnson
Kelly Takaya King
Michael J. Molina
Tamara Paltin
Shane M. Sinenci
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



Director of Council Services Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

October 13, 2021

Ms. Lori Tsuhako, Director Department of Housing and Human Concerns County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Ms. Tsuhako:

SUBJECT: **COMPREHENSIVE AFFORDABLE HOUSING PLAN: RIGHT TO SHELTER** (AH-14(1))

May I please request the Department's response to the following:

- 1. What is the total amount of funding allocated for housing and shelter of unsheltered individuals and families that the Department receives from:
 - (a) County sources.
 - (b) State funding sources, including matching funds.
 - (c) Federal funding sources, including HUD.
 - (d) All sources combined.
- 2. At the September 30, 2021, meeting of the Council's Human Concerns and Parks Committee, you mentioned guidelines and mandates for State and Federal funding that determine how funds were used, which if not met would require the County to find alternative funding.
 - (a) What specific guidelines and mandates are you referring to?

- (b) How much estimated funding is subject to the County following certain guidelines, mandates, or conditions?
- 3. Also, please provide a list of planned compassionate response efforts and homeless encampment clean-ups, as well as information on the process for determining when and where a response or clean-up will take place.

May I further request you or a designated representative provide a written response and be prepared to attend the Affordable Housing Committee meeting on October 18, 2021.

To ensure efficient processing, please send your response to ah.committee@mauicounty.us and include the relevant Committee number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or Committee staff (Alison Stewart at ext. 7661, or Rayna Yap at ext. 8007).

Sincerely,

GABE JOHNSON, Chair Affordable Housing Committee

ah:ltr:014(1)ahc01:ans

cc: Mayor Michael P. Victorino