## Resolution

**No.** 22-112

CONGRATULATING LIANA FERREIRA AND JAHLIA MIGUEL OF H.P. BALDWIN HIGH SCHOOL, MIKAH LABUANAN OF KAMEHAMEHA SCHOOLS MAUI, AND CATHERINE ASAMI AND TEANI MEDEIROS-MAIELUA OF LAHAINALUNA HIGH SCHOOL FOR WINNING STATE TITLES AT THE 2022 TEXACO/HHSAA STATE WRESTLING CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, Liana Ferreira and Jahlia Miguel of H.P. Baldwin High School, Mikah Labuanan of Kamehameha Schools Maui, and Catherine Asami and Teani Medeiros-Maielua of Lahainaluna High School won State titles in their respective weight classes at the Texaco/HHSAA State Wrestling Championship held March 4-5, 2022, at Neal S. Blaisdell Arena in Honolulu, Hawai'i; and

WHEREAS, these distinguished athletes persevered through the disappointing cancellation of the Maui Interscholastic League ("MIL") regular season because of the COVID-19 pandemic and displayed great dedication to their training, exemplified self-directed motivation, maintained at-home workouts, and participated in out-of-state competitions in preparation for the highly anticipated return of regularly scheduled sporting events; and

WHEREAS, this inspiring group of wrestlers represented Maui County at the State tournament after participating at the MIL Championship tournament on February 26, 2022, at H.P. Baldwin High School: and

WHEREAS, all five were named to The Maui News' 2022 MIL Wrestling All-Star Team, with Liana Ferreira named Girl Wrestler of the Year and Mikah Labuanan being Boy Wrestler of the Year; and

WHEREAS, MIL Champion Liana Ferreira entered the State tournament as the No. 1 seed in the Girls 102 class and had a 3-2 victory over the No. 2 seed in the State championship match; and

WHEREAS, MIL Champion Jahlia Miguel entered the State tournament as the No. 2 seed in the Girls 145 class and won the championship with a final score of 6-3 over the top seed; and

WHEREAS, Mikah Labuanan entered the State tournament unseeded in the Boys 126 class and won the title with a final score of 7-4 over the No. 1 seed; and

WHEREAS, MIL Champion Teani Medeiros-Maielua entered the State tournament as the No. 3 seed in the Girls 132 class and defeated her competitor 45 seconds into the second period of the championship match; and

WHEREAS, MIL Champion Catherine Asami entered the State tournament as the No. 3 seed in the Girls 184 class and won the title by pinning her opponent in the first 30 seconds of the championship match's second period; and

WHEREAS, with the guidance of their dedicated coaches—Malakai Panuve of H.P. Baldwin High School, Michael Labuanan of Kamehameha Schools Maui, and Todd Hayase and Zane Monteleone of Lahainaluna High School—these champions have achieved distinction and excellence in wrestling through devoted sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, the exceptional performance, resolve, and spirit of these extraordinary wrestlers bring great pride and honor to their families, schools, and the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

## BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it congratulates Liana Ferreira and Jahlia Miguel of H.P. Baldwin High School, Mikah Labuanan of Kamehameha Schools Maui, and Catherine Asami and Teani Medeiros-Maielua of Lahainaluna High School for winning State titles at the 2022 Texaco/HHSAA State Wrestling Championship; and
- 2. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to Liana Ferreira and Jahlia Miguel of H.P. Baldwin High School, Mikah Labuanan of Kamehameha Schools Maui, and Catherine Asami and Teani Medeiros-Maielua of Lahainaluna High School; Malakai Panuve, Wrestling Coach, H.P. Baldwin High School; Michael Labuanan, Wrestling Coach,

## Resolution No. 22-112

Kamehameha Schools Maui; Todd Hayase and Zane Monteleone, Wrestling Coaches, Lahainaluna High School; Keoni Wilhelm, Principal, H.P. Baldwin High School; Kaleo Pahukula, Poʻo Kumu, Kamehameha Schools Maui; Lora-lea Grando, Temporary Assignment Principal, Lahainaluna High School; Joe Balangitao, Executive Director, Maui Interscholastic League; Christopher Chun, Executive Director, Hawaii High School Athletic Association; and the Honorable Michael P. Victorino, Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:21-22Reso:22-084a:ckb/brs

INTRODUCED BY:

Jamara a M. Baltin