Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Gabe Johnson
Kelly Takaya King
Michael J. Molina
Tamara Paltin
Shane M. Sinenci
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



Deputy Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

Director of Council Services

Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

February 10, 2022

Mr. Edwin Sniffen, Deputy Director Department of Transportation, Highways Division State of Hawaii 869 Punchbowl Street, Room 511 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Via E-mail: Edwin.h.sniffen@hawaii.gov

Dear Mr. Sniffen:

SUBJECT: INFRASTRUCTURE INVESTMENT AND JOBS ACT (IT-1(5))

Thank you for your virtual participation in the Maui County Council's Infrastructure and Transportation Committee meeting on January 27, 2022.

As a follow-up to your presentation, may I please request your written response to the following questions:

- 1. Old Government Roads are found in some rural communities in Maui County. Because these roads fall under State jurisdiction, would funding be provided to the County to address projects involving Old Government Roads?
- 2. Please clarify whether funds could be used on Shipwreck Road on Lāna'i for the 5th Street Expansion Project.
- 3. Please summarize how funds could be used to build bicycle pullouts along Kula Highway on Maui.
- 4. County projects often receive low prioritization by the State Department of Transportation and the Federal Highway Administration, which hinders the County's ability to expedite

Honorable Brian Schatz February 10, 2022 Page 2

projects. Please explain how Maui County can expedite project approvals.

5. Please provide a contact list for your office staff, along with their areas of responsibility, relating to the Infrastructure Bill.

May I further request your written response no later than **February 25, 2022**. To ensure efficient processing, please transmit your response to it.committee@mauicounty.us and include the relevant Committee item number in your response's subject line.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Laksmi Abraham at (808) 270-7659, or Clarita Balala at (808) 270-7668).

Sincerely,

YUKI LEI K. SUGIMURA, Chair

Infrastructure and Transportation Committee

it:ltr:001(5)adot01:lma