August 9, 2022

2022 AUG -9 PM 12: 19

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

MEMO TO: PSLU-53 File

F R O M: Tamara Paltin, Chan Tamana a. M. Paltin

Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee

SUBJECT: TRANSMITTAL OF LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL RELATING TO THE

SOUTH MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN UPDATE (PSLU-53)

The attached legislative proposal pertains to Item 53 on the Committee's agenda.

pslu:ltr:053afile05:wal

Attachment

Resolution

No. 22-173, CD1

APPOINTMENTS TO THE SOUTH MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, Section 2.80B.080, Maui County Code, provides as follows:

- "A. Each of the County's nine community plans shall, to the extent practicable, be updated within ten years (decennially) of the respective plan's adoption. The decision as to the order of updating the nine community plans shall be decided by the council.
- B. There shall be a community plan advisory committee for each community plan set forth in section 2.80B.070.B. Except for the community plan advisory committee for the Kahoolawe community plan, each community plan advisory committee shall consist of residents of the corresponding community plan area and shall hold all meetings in the corresponding community plan area.
- Each community plan advisory committee shall be composed of thirteen members, nine appointed by the council and four by the mayor. In making such appointments, the council and the mayor shall strive for diversity and balance of age, gender, background, profession, heritage, experience, and ideology on each committee. The council and the mayor shall give priority to people who have a strong connection to all parts of the corresponding community plan area and have expressed a strong commitment to participate in and attend all committee meetings. Prior or current service as a member of a general plan advisory committee shall not disqualify an individual from serving on a community plan advisory committee. Each community plan advisory committee is charged with reviewing and recommending revisions to the community plan for its community plan area. The mayor and council shall appoint the members of each community plan advisory committee in accordance with the timing established in subsection A and the following procedure:
 - 1. The department of planning shall submit to the council a request to initiate the establishment of a community plan advisory committee, including the requested deadline for appointment of the members.

Resolution No. 22-173, CD1

- 2. The council shall establish a community plan advisory committee information sheet, application, and nominee contact information form.
- 3. The council shall issue a press release seeking applications for a community plan advisory committee by a requested deadline.
- 4. The council may extend the deadline for applications in the event it does not receive a sufficient number of qualified applicants.
- 5. The council shall appoint nine community plan advisory committee members by resolution."; and

WHEREAS, the Kihei-Makena Community Plan was approved by Ordinance 2641 (1998) as the community plan for South Maui; and

WHEREAS, by County Communication 22-102, the Planning Director requested the Council initiate the establishment of the South Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee, or CPAC, to start the process of updating the Kihei-Makena Community Plan; and

WHEREAS, the Council, through its Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee, recruited and vetted CPAC applicants; and

WHEREAS, the persons listed in Exhibit "A," as attached, timely submitted an application and were selected by the Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee as finalists from all applicants for further consideration for a seat on the CPAC; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Section 2.80B.080(F), Maui County Code, the CPAC will remain in existence until the enactment of an ordinance adopting the Kihei-Makena Community Plan update; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

1. That it approves the appointment of the persons listed in Exhibit "B," as attached, as members of the South Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee;

Resolution No. 22-173, CD1

- 2. That it disapproves the appointment of the persons listed in Exhibit "C," as attached, as members to the South Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee;
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to all applicants for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, Managing Director, Planning Director, Corporation Counsel, and each of the Council's appointed members to the South Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee.

pslu:misc:053areso01

FINALISTS

SOUTH MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- 1. Chris Franco
- 2. Cody Nemet
- 3. Daniel Kanahele
- 4. David Dorn
- 5. Donna Domingo
- 6. Everett Dowling
- 7. Genesis Young
- 8. Keoki Pfaeltzer
- 9. Lehuanani Huddleston-Hafoka
- 10. Mary Trotto
- 11. Michael Duberstein
- 12. Mike Moran
- 13. Paul Gammie
- 14. Rob Weltman
- 15. Robert Aldrich
- 16. Tina Wildberger
- 17. Tova Callender
- 18. Vernon Kalanikau

APPROVED MEMBERS

SOUTH MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- 1. Cody Nemet
- 2. Daniel Kanahele
- 3. Everett Dowling
- 4. Keoki Pfaeltzer
- 5. Lehuanani Huddleston-Hafoka
- 6. Rob Weltman
- 7. Tina Wildberger
- 8. Tova Callender
- 9. Vernon Kalanikau

DISAPPROVED MEMBERS

SOUTH MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- 1. Chris Franco
- 2. David Dorn
- 3. Donna Domingo
- 4. Genesis Young
- 5. Mary Trotto
- 6. Michael Duberstein
- 7. Mike Moran
- 8. Paul Gammie
- 9. Robert Aldrich

INTRODUCED BY:

Jamma A.M. Paltin TAMARA PALTIN