Resolution

No. ____22-218

URGING THE ADMINISTRATION TO AUTHORIZE RETENTION BONUSES FOR MAUI POLICE DEPARTMENT OFFICERS

WHEREAS, the Council values Maui Police Department officers for the work they do to protect and serve our community; and

WHEREAS, the Council recognizes the alarming number of police officers leaving the force for other employment opportunities; and

WHEREAS, police departments nationwide are struggling to retain and recruit officers; and

WHEREAS, police departments are offering thousands of dollars in retention bonuses as part of a larger compensation package and in an effort to retain officers; and

WHEREAS, the Council seeks to support incentives for its police officers to retain and continue employment with the County; and

WHEREAS, in an article by *The Maui News* on June 15, 2022, a survey commissioned by the Maui Chapter of the State of Hawaii Organization of Police Officers ("SHOPO") showed one-third of Maui Police Department officers are considering leaving the department in the next two years; and

WHEREAS, nearly 160 police officers responded to the SHOPO survey with concerns of the department leadership, morale, and working conditions; and

WHEREAS, according to the SHOPO survey, Maui police officers ranked pay as the top retention incentive; and

WHEREAS, the Council supports collaborative efforts among the Administration, the Police Commission, the Maui Police Department, and SHOPO to address the concerns identified in the survey that will help in retaining police officers; and

WHEREAS, the Council also supports an agreement with SHOPO that sets the terms and conditions for police officer retention bonuses; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it urges the County Administration to authorize retention bonuses sufficient to incentivize our valued police officers to remain with the Maui Police Department; and
- 2. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to Robert Cavaco, President, State of Hawaii Organization Police Officers; Nicholas Krau, Chair, Maui Chapter, State of Hawaii Organization Police Officers; Frank De Rego, Jr., Chair, Maui Police Commission, County of Maui; John Pelletier, Chief of Police, Maui Police Department, County of Maui; and the Honorable Michael P. Victorino, Mayor, County of Maui.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:

Department of the Corporation Counsel County of Maui

paf:wal:22-194a

INTRODUCED BY:

UUKi Sei Supimura YUKI LEI K. SUGIMURA