Resolution

URGING THE COUNTY OF MAUI AND ITS TOURISM INDUSTRY TO ADOPT SUSTAINABLE TOURISM PRACTICES AND CERTIFICATION

WHEREAS, sustainable tourism "takes full account of its current and future economic, social and environmental impacts, addressing the needs of visitors, the industry, the environment and host communities," according to a definition adopted by the United Nations World Tourism Organization, as noted in Resolution 21-18, adopted by the Council on February 5, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the Council's Budget, Finance, and Economic Development Committee on July 21, 2021, formed the Tourism Management and Economic Development Temporary Investigative Group ("TIG") to make findings and recommendations on policies for tourism management and economic development and advance sustainable tourism in Maui County; and

WHEREAS, the TIG's final report, issued on February 2, 2022, recommended establishing a Maui County tourism management organization and structure, encouraging green energy requirements and sustainability measures for transient accommodations, and creating a reservation system for tourism hotspots, among other proposals; and

WHEREAS, United Nations Sustainable Development Goal 11 encourages municipalities to be inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable; and

WHEREAS, the Global Sustainable Tourism Council ("GSTC"), which establishes and manages global standards for sustainable travel and tourism, divides its destination criteria for sustainable tourism into four pillars:

 sustainable management, which includes resident engagement and feedback; visitor engagement and feedback; planning regulations and development control; and climate change adaptation;

- socio-economic sustainability, which includes the delivery of local economic benefits; support for local entrepreneurs and fair trade; the prevention of exploitation and discrimination;
- cultural sustainability, which includes protection of cultural heritage, cultural assets, traditional access, and intellectual property; visitor management at cultural sites; and site interpretation; and
- environmental sustainability, which includes protection of sensitive environments; animal welfare; water stewardship; mitigation of greenhouse gas emissions; low-impact transportation; and prevention of light and noise pollution; and

WHEREAS, according to the GSTC website at gstcouncil.org, three communities—Vail, Colorado; Breckinridge, Colorado; and Jackson Hole/Teton County, Wyoming—have become recognized as Certified Sustainable Destinations in the United States; and

WHEREAS, GSTC website shows that hotels and tour operators also have the opportunity for sustainability certification; and

WHEREAS, there is strong consensus in the State of Hawai'i and Maui County to adopt sustainable tourism practices; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it urges the County of Maui and its tourism industry, including all hotels, other operators of transient accommodations—such as bed and breakfast homes, short-term rental homes, and timeshares—and tour operators, to adopt sustainable tourism practices and become certified for sustainability;
- 2. That it urges the Administration to work closely with the Council to adopt the Global Sustainability Tourism Coalition Destination Criteria and to work toward Maui County becoming a Certified Sustainable Destination;

- 3. That it urges the Maui County Office of Climate Change, Resiliency and Sustainability to develop a plan to achieve the goal of becoming a Certified Sustainable Destination; and
- 4. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to Zurab Pololikashvili, Secretary-General, United Nations World Tourism Organization; Randy Durband, Chief Executive Officer, Global Sustainable Tourism Council: the Honorable Brian E. Schatz, United States Senator; Honorable Mazie K. Hirono, United States Senator; the Honorable Kai Kahele, United States Representative; the Honorable Scott Saiki, Speaker of the House, State of Hawai'i; the Honorable Ron Kouchi, President, Hawai'i State Senate: the Honorable David Y. Ige, Governor, State of Hawai'i; the Honorable Josh Green, M.D., Lieutenant Governor, State of Hawai'i; the Honorable Michael P. Victorino, Mayor, County of Maui; Eric Nakagawa, Director of Environmental Management, County of Maui; Michele Chouteau McLean, AICP, Planning Director, County of Maui; P. Denise La Costa, Chairperson, and Members of the Maui Planning Commission; Alex de Roode, Energy Commissioner, County of Maui; Sherry Duong, Executive Director, Maui Visitors and Convention Bureau; Lisa Paulson, Executive Director, Maui Hotel and Lodging Association; John DeFries, President and CEO, Hawai'i Tourism Authority; George Kam, Chair, and Members of the Board of Directors. Hawai'i Tourism Authority; and Mufi Hannemann, President and CEO, Hawai'i Lodging and Tourism Association.

paf:wal:22-228a

INTRODUCED BY:

Kelly 7. King KELLYTAKAYA KING