Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Gabe Johnson Kelly Takaya King Michael J. Molina Tamara Paltin Shane M. Sinenci Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



Director of Council Services Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

October 25, 2022

Ms. Michele McLean, Director Department of Planning County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Ms. McLean:

## SUBJECT: BILL 131 (2022), RELATING TO DEFINITIONS OF TIME SHARE PLAN AND TRANSIENT (PSLU-59)

The Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee intends to discuss Bill 131 (2022) at its meeting of November 3, 2022, at 9:00 a.m. May I please request your written response to the following as it relates to Bill 131:

- 1. How will the Planning Department enforce the requirements of Bill 131 as currently drafted?
- 2. Would the inclusion of a registration requirement in Bill 131 better facilitate enforcement within the Planning Department?

May I further request you transmit your written response to pslu.committee@mauicounty.us no later than **November 2, 2022**, and include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Ms. Michele McLean October 25, 2022 Page 2

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Wilton Leauanae at ext. 7761, or Clarita Balala at ext. 7668).

Sincerely,

Jamana a. m. Baltin

TAMARA PALTIN, Chair Planning and Sustainable Land Use Committee

pslu:ltr:059apl01:wal

cc: Mayor Michael P. Victorino