★√<u>MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION</u> (9 Members)

NOTE: Effective April 10, 2017, Ordinance 4431, amended Section 2.28.070, Maui County Code, to read as follows: "Planning commission and advisory committee membership requirements. At least one member of each planning commission and Hana advisory committee shall have demonstrated expertise in native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices, as evidenced by one or more of the following credentials: 1. A college degree in a relevant field, such as Hawaiian studies, native Hawaiian law, native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices, including traditional environmental practices, or related subject area. 2. Work history that demonstrates an appropriate level of knowledge in native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices. 3. Substantial experience as a native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices."

Effective October 9, 2020, Ordinance 5128, amended Section 2.28.070, to add: 4. Background in conservation, natural resources, or climate change,

Enabling Legislation: MCC Sections 2.28.010 and 2.28.070, and Charter Sections 8-8.4 and 13-2 (Must be resident of Maui)
(2 ex-officio members: Director of Public Works; and Director of Water Supply)

Supporting Department: Department of Planning					
MEMBERS	PARTY AFFIL.	DISTRICT	EXPIRATION DATE	DATE OF COUNCIL MEETING	BY
1. Kawika Freitas ^{*1}	D	Makawao	03/31/23	10/04/19	CR 19-116 (Res. 19-170)
2. P. Denise La Costa	Ι	Lahaina	03/31/23	03/09/18	CR 18-40 (Res. 18-40)
3. Kellie Pali	Ι	Kihei	03/31/24	Reappointed on 03/08/19	CR 19-24 (Res. 19-51)
4. Melvin Hipolito ²	I	Makawao	03/31/25	08/18/20	CR 20-98 (Res. 20-116)
5. Dale Thompson	N	Lahaina	03/31/25	Reappointed on 03/13/20	CR 20-34 (Res. 20-40)
6. Ashley Lindsey	D	Wailuku	03/31/26	Reappointed on 03/05/21	CC 21-133 (Res. 21-30)
7. Kimberly Thayer	Ν	Wailuku	03/31/26	05/07/21	CR 21-212 (Res. 21-79, As Amended)
8. VACANTBlaine Apo ³	N	<u>Kula</u>	03/31/27		Resolution 22-247
9. Mark Henry Deakos	D	Lahaina	03/31/27	08/05/22	Resolution 22-174

Supporting Department: Department of Planning

*Designated as the Native Hawaiian Traditional and Customary Practices expert

¹Replaced Alalani Hill who resigned on 05/15/19

²Replaced Lorraine Sablas who resigned on 06/01/20

³Replaced William Gordon Greig who resigned on 07/13/22