GRAD-20

Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Tom Cook Gabe Johnson Tamara Paltin Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez Shane M. Sinenci Nohelani U'u-Hodgins



COUNTY COUNCIL COUNTY OF MAUI

200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 13, 2023

Director of Council Services

Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services

David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

 \mathbf{c}

a,

The Honorable Richard T. Bissen, Jr. Mayor, County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mayor Bissen:

SUBJECT: DISAPPROVAL OF NOMINEES

At the Regular Council meeting of March 10, 2023, the Council disapproved the nomination of Mr. Roger Clapp to the Cost of Government Commission. A copy of Resolution No. 23-54, CD1 is enclosed for your reference and file.

This notification is provided to you pursuant to Section 13-2(16), Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended.

Sincerely,

ALICE L. LEE Council Chair

Enclosure

cc: Government Relations, Ethics, and Transparency Committee / Director of Council Services County Clerk

Resolution

No. 23-54, CD1

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO COST OF GOVERNMENT COMMISSION FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WHEREAS, by correspondence dated January 31, 2023, Mayor Richard T. Bissen, Jr. notified the Council he nominated the persons listed in Exhibit "A," as attached, as members to the Cost of Government Commission for the County of Maui, in accordance with Sections 3-9.3 and 13-2 Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended ("Charter"); and

WHEREAS, Charter Section 13-2 requires the Mayor's nominees to be approved by the Council; and

WHEREAS, Charter Section 13-2(16) requires the Council to approve or disapprove the nominations within sixty days after the Mayor submits the names of the nominees to the Council; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it approves the appointments of the persons listed in Exhibit "B," as attached, as members to the Cost of Government Commission for the terms specified;
- 2. That it disapproves the appointments of the persons listed in Exhibit "C," as attached, as members to the Cost of Government Commission as nominated by the Mayor;
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the appointed members for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, Acting Managing Director, and the Acting Corporation Counsel.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:

MIMI DESJARDINS Deputy Corporation Counsel County of Maui

great:misc:002(1)areso08:kmat

INTRODUCED BY:

Upon the request of the Mayor.

NOMINATED MEMBERS AND TERMS

Cost of Government Commission

Evan Purcell Dust (Reappoint) Cameron James Dexter Roger Clapp Steven Robert Knapp

÷

Term Expiration 3/31/2028 Term Expiration 3/31/2028 Term Expiration 3/31/2028 Term Expiration 3/31/2028

APPROVED MEMBERS AND TERMS

Cost of Government Commission

Evan Purcell Dust (Reappoint) Cameron James Dexter Steven Robert Knapp

¢.

tr.

Term Expiration 3/31/2028 Term Expiration 3/31/2028 Term Expiration 3/31/2028

DISAPPROVED MEMBER

Cost of Government Commission

Roger Clapp

4

4

Exhibit "C"

- - -

COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF MAUI

ė

WAILUKU, HAWAII 96793

CERTIFICATION OF ADOPTION

It is HEREBY CERTIFIED that RESOLUTION NO. 23-54, CD1, was adopted by the Council of the County of Maui, State of Hawaii, on the 10th day of March, 2023, by the following vote:

MEMBERS	Alice L. LEE Chair	Yuki Lei K. SUGIMURA Vice-Chair	Tom COOK	Gabriel JOHNSON	Natalie A. KAMA	Tamara A. M. PALTIN	Keani N. W. RAWLINS- FERNANDEZ	Shane M. SINENCI	Nohelani UʻU-HODGINS
ROLL CALL	Ауе	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Ауе	Ауе	Ауе	Ауе

Mra h Ung COUNTY CLERK