Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Tom Cook
Gabe Johnson
Tamara Paltin
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez
Shane M. Sinenci
Nohelani Uʻu-Hodgins



Deputy Director of Council Services

Director of Council Services

Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 17, 2023

Lieutenant Commander Michelle J. Rice United States Coast Guard Sector Honolulu 400 Sand Island Parkway Honolulu, Hawaii 96819-4326

Dear Lieutenant Commander Rice:

SUBJECT: MARITIME DISASTERS (DRIP-2(1))

The Maui County Council's Disaster, Resilience, International Affairs, and Planning Committee intends to discuss maritime disasters at its March 22, 2023, meeting at 1:30 p.m. In lieu of your agency attending the meeting, may I please request your response to the following questions:

- 1. What are steps the U.S. Coast Guard ("USCG") has taken to prevent shipwrecks?
- 2. Please describe the USCG's responsibilities and protocols for responding to shipwrecks. How do these responsibilities and protocols differ from the State of Hawai'i and the County of Maui?
- 3. Please describe the USCG's timeline when responding to a shipwreck.
- 4. In the event hazardous fluids are leaked into the ocean, does the USCG have all materials necessary to respond on Maui Island? If no, why not?
- 5. Please describe the USCG's involvement in responding to vessels operating without insurance and vessels moored illegally, if any.

Lieutenant Commander Rice March 17, 2023 Page 2

I would appreciate receiving your response **by noon on March 22, 2023,** for consideration during the Committee's meeting. To ensure efficient processing, please include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Paige Greco at ext. (808) 270-7660, or Maria Leon at ext. (808) 270-7866).

Sincerely,

TAMARA PALTIN, Chair

Jamana a. M. Paltin

Disaster, Resilience, International Affairs, and Planning Committee

drip:misc:ltr:002(1)auscg01:pmg

cc: Lieutenant Commander Wade P. Thomson Lieutenant Eric Joseph Juback Chief Warrant Officer 3 Shannon L. McGregor Chief Petty Officer David E. Jones