Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Tom Cook
Gabe Johnson
Tamara Paltin
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez
Shane M. Sinenci
Nohelani Uʻu-Hodgins



Director of Council Services Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 28, 2023

Laura Kaʻakua, First Deputy Department of Land and Natural Resources Main Office State of Hawaiʻi Kalanimoku Building 1151 Punchbowl Street Honolulu, Hawaiʻi 96813

Dear Ms. Ka'akua:

SUBJECT: MARITIME DISASTERS (DRIP-2(1))

Thank you for participating in the Maui County Council's Disaster, Resilience, International Affairs, and Planning Committee meeting on March 22, 2023, relating to this matter.

May I please request your response to the following:

- 1. Please provide the amount of revenue that is generated by the State Department of Land and Natural Resources ("DLNR") and sent to the State Office of Hawaiian Affairs each year.
- 2. Please provide the amount of revenue generated by DLNR for vessels with commercial permits operating out of the West Maui Ocean Recreation Management Area, as defined by Section 13-256-106, Hawai'i Administrative Rules.
- 3. Please provide the amount of revenue generated by DLNR from Mala Wharf & Boat Ramp and Lāhainā Harbor, respectively, each year for the past five years.
- 4. Please describe the process DLNR follows to issue commercial boating permits. Please include references to applicable code

Ms. Laura Kaʻakua March 28, 2023 Page 2

provisions, the cost to obtain a commercial permit, and the cost to transfer a commercial permit.

May I please request your written response by **April 10, 2023**. To ensure efficient processing, please transmit your response to drip.committee@mauicounty.us and include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Paige Greco at (808) 270-7660, or Maria Leon at (808) 270-7866).

Sincerely,

Jamana a. M. Baltin

TAMARA PALTIN, Chair Disaster, Resilience, International Affairs, and Planning Committee

drip:ltr:002(1)adlnr01:pmg

cc: Dawn Chang, Chair, State Department of Land and Natural Resources