MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION (9 Members)

NOTE: Effective April 10, 2017, Ordinance 4431, amended Section 2.28.070, Maui County Code, to read as follows: "Planning commission and advisory committee membership requirements. At least one member of each planning commission and Hana advisory committee shall have demonstrated expertise in native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices, as evidenced by one or more of the following credentials: 1. A college degree in a relevant field, such as Hawaiian studies, native Hawaiian law, native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices, including traditional environmental practices, or related subject area. 2. Work history that demonstrates an appropriate level of knowledge in native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices, including traditional environmental practices. 3. Substantial experience as a native Hawaiian traditional and customary practitioner."

Effective October 9, 2020, Ordinance 5128, amended Section 2.28.070, to add: 4. Background in conservation, natural resources, or climate change. Charter Commission proposal 4, approved at 2022 General Election, provides: "The nine members must include at least one and no more than two members who reside in each council residency area on the island of Maui."

Enabling Legislation: MCC Sections 2.28.010 and 2.28.070, and Charter Sections 8-8.4 and 13-2 (Must be resident of Maui)

• (2 ex-officio members: Director of Public Works; and Director of Water Supply)

Supporting Department: Department of Planning

MEMBERS	PARTY AFFIL.	COUNCIL RESIDENCY AREA	EXPIRATION DATE	DATE OF COUNCIL MEETING	BY
1. Kellie Pali	I	South Maui	03/31/24	Reappointed on 03/08/19	Resolution 19-51
2. Melvin Hipolito ¹	I	Makawao-Ha`ikū- Pā`ia	03/31/25	08/18/20	Resolution 20-116
3. Dale Thompson	N	West Maui	03/31/25	Reappointed on 03/13/20	Resolution 20-40
4. Ashley Lindsey	D	Wailuku-Waihe`e- Waikapū	03/31/26	Reappointed on 03/05/21	Resolution 21-30
5. Kimberly Thayer	N	Wailuku-Waihe`e- Waikapū	03/31/26	05/07/21	Resolution 21-79, As Amended
6. Blaine Apo ²	N	Pukalani-Kula- `Ulupalakua	03/31/27	12/02/22	Resolution 22-247
7. Mark Henry Deakos	D	West Maui	03/31/27	08/05/22	Resolution 22-174
8. VACANTFawn Sherie Kukunaokala Helekahi-Burns*	<u>R</u>	East Maui	03/31/28		Resolution 23-132
9. VACANT Andrea Kimiko Kealoha	<u>D</u>	Makawao-Ha`ikū- Pā`ia	03/31/28		Resolution 23-132

*Designated as the native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices expert $\mathbf{1}_{Replaced\ Lorraine\ Sablas\ who\ resigned\ on\ 06/01/20}$

