Council Chair Mike White

Vice-Chair Don S. Guzman

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Michael P. Victorino

Councilmembers Gladys C. Baisa Robert Carroll Elle Cochran Don Couch Stacy Crivello Riki Hokama



COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

April 15, 2016

Mr. Stewart Stant, Director Department of Environmental Management County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mr. Stant:

SUBJECT: REQUESTS/QUESTIONS FROM APRIL 14, 2016 MEETING (EM-6) (BF-1)

At its meeting on April 14, 2016, the Budget and Finance Committee requested your Department's responses to the following requests/questions.

- 1. Provide the projected volume of material to be removed from the contaminated site for CBS-1908 Hana Landfill Makai Berm Waste Removal project (page 731 of the Program Budget). Also provide an assessment of the potential use of greenwaste for locally distributed compost in East Maui. (RC)
- 2. Provide the amount of fines previously assessed for the leachate collection problem addressed in CBS-3175 Leachate Collection & Recovery and Electrical Distribution System Upgrades (page 743 of the Program Budget). (RH)
- 3. Provide the amount of fines assessed for issues at the Central Maui Landfill from Fiscal Year ("FY") 2000 to FY 2016, to date. (RH)
- 4. Provide the dimensions for the current mobile office and the requested specifications for a new mobile office for CBS-3174 Lahaina Refuse Office (page 752 of the Program Budget). (RH)

May I further request you transmit your response no later than *April 21*, **2016**, to enable the Committee to comprehensively review the FY 2017 Budget.

Mr. Stewart Stant April 15, 2016 Page 2

To ensure efficient processing, please duplicate the coding in the subject line above for easy reference.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Steve Selee at ext. 7687, Michele Yoshimura at ext. 7663, Shelly Espeleta at ext. 7134, or Yvette Bouthillier at ext. 7758).

Sincerely,

RUY Sohama RIKI HOKAMA, Chair

Budget and Finance Committee

bf:2017bgt:160414aem01:srs

cc: Mayor Alan M. Arakawa Budget Director