Resolution

CONGRATULATING THE MAUI BIG LEAGUE ALL-STARS FOR WINNING THE UNITED STATES CHAMPIONSHIP AT THE 2016 BIG LEAGUE WORLD SERIES

WHEREAS, the Maui Big League All-Stars, a Kihei-based team of 17- and 18-year-olds, participated in the 2016 International Tournament for the Little League Big League Baseball Division; and

WHEREAS, the Maui All-Stars had a 5-1 record at the West Regional Tournament in Bremerton, Washington, from July 18 to 23, 2016, and earned a spot in the Big League World Series after defeating Thousand Oaks, California, 3-2, on July 23, 2016; and

WHEREAS, the Maui All-Stars won the United States championship at the Big League World Series on August 1, 2016, in Easley, South Carolina, with 4-1 victory over Tarpon Springs, Florida; and

WHEREAS, in the nationally televised Big League World Series championship game on August 2, 2016, the Maui All-Stars represented the United States, falling to Taoyuan, Taiwan, 6-2; and

WHEREAS, the experienced Maui All-Stars team includes former award-winning Maui Interscholastic League players, former participants in the 2014 Senior League World Series, and players returning to Maui for the summer after their freshman seasons of college baseball; and

WHEREAS, the United States championship team consists of players Nawai Ah Yen, Kawena Alo-Kaonohi, Damien Awai, Travis Delima, Orion Farias, Akoni Hamilton Golis, Skyelor Ishikawa, Micah Jio, Linden Kanamu, Lane Kashiwamura, Bryant Nakagawa, Kyle Oshiro, Shadd Santos, Colby Tam, Ekolu Watanabe, and Rylie Velez; coaches Dayton Alexander, Dan Bellinder, and Kelly Fliear; and manager Steve Leis; and

WHEREAS, the exceptional performance, dedication, and team spirit of the Maui All-Stars have brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

Resolution	No.	

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the Maui Big League All-Stars for winning the 2016 United States championship at the Big League World Series; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to the Maui All-Stars players, coaches, and manager; the Honorable David Ige, Governor, State of Hawaii; the Honorable Shan Tsutsui, Lieutenant Governor, State of Hawaii; and the Honorable Alan Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:15-16reso:16-143a:aan

Resolution No	

Ŀ

2016 AUG 25 PM 2:08

SOUNTY OF THE