Resolution

No	
----	--

CONGRATULATING THE 2016
MAUI PONY ALL-STARS FOR WINNING THE
WEST ZONE CHAMPIONSHIP AND ADVANCING
TO THE CHAMPIONSHIP GAME AT THE PONY
LEAGUE BASEBALL WORLD SERIES

WHEREAS, the Maui PONY All-Stars, a team of 13- and 14-year-olds, won the PONY League West Zone championship on July 31, 2016 in West Covina, California; and

WHEREAS, the Maui PONY All-Stars were undefeated in four games in the West Zone tournament; and

WHEREAS, the Maui PONY All-Stars advanced to the West Zone after winning the State championship on Kauai in June; and

WHEREAS, after winning the West Zone championship, the Maui PONY All-Stars went on to play in the PONY League Baseball World Series in Washington, Pennsylvania, August 6-10, 2016; and

WHEREAS, at the World Series, the Maui PONY All-Stars qualified for the championship game after three consecutive wins, 9-0 over Germany, 6-5 over Laredo, Texas, and 19-3, Bay County, Michigan; and

WHEREAS, the Maui PONY All-Stars lost to Taiwan in the championship game at the PONY League Baseball World Series; and

WHEREAS, the 2016 Maui PONY All-Stars team consists of players Andre Beaudoin, Hauoli Caliva, Isaiah Duarte, Haku Dudoit, Ka`aimokuokalani Dukelow, Kaipo Haole, Cade Kalehuawehe, Kaeo Kamau, Micah Kele, Roy Meinen, Konnor Palmeira, Graydon Tanaka, Dawson Tokishi, Kevin Varner, Jr., and Adam Yamashita; coaches Craig Okita and Kevin Galicinao; and managers Dean Yamashita and Shane Awai; and

WHEREAS, the exceptional performance, dedication, and team spirit of the Maui PONY Maui All-Stars have brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

Resolution	No.	

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the 2016 Maui PONY All-Stars for winning the West Zone championship and advancing to the championship game at the PONY League Baseball World Series; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to the Maui PONY All-Stars players, coaches, and managers; the Honorable David Ige, Governor, State of Hawaii; the Honorable Shan Tsutsui, Lieutenant Governor, State of Hawaii; and the Honorable Alan Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

reso:15-16reso:16-142a:sco