Resolution

No. _____

CONGRATULATING THE FALCON ENTERTAINMENT AND ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY CLUB OF MAUI WAENA INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL FOR BEING AWARDED FIRST PLACE AT THE 2017 STUDENT TELEVISION NETWORK CONVENTION

WHEREAS, the Falcon Entertainment and Engineering Technology Club of Maui Waena Intermediate School in Kahului captured a first place title at the 14th Annual Student Television Network National Convention in Anaheim, California, March 28-31, 2017; and

WHEREAS, the team of tech-savvy students includes Angelina Alfano, Bryant Asuncion, Gigi Baldonado, Micayla Ban, Czerena Bayle, Tracy Del Rosario, Samantha Della, Navaeh Dempsey, M. J. Dinong, Renzo Gaorian, Jacy Hanada, Ethan Harris, Kaelah Iha, Jaycie Iha, Maria Inong, Gwen Jaramillo, Malie Kamalo, Alyson Kar, Hannah Okamoto, Shyla Orquia, Meledee Ota, Maria Patrocinio, Wincy Perez, Keithjan Quilal-Lan, Cameron Richardson, Glenzy Salcedo, Emily Tom, Logan Tsukiyama, Alexis Viloria, Forrest Stolmeier, and Jadynne Zane; and

WHEREAS, the Student Television Network National Convention is recognized as the largest student video contest in the nation, with awards presented in recognition of technical excellence, creativity, and journalistic integrity, honoring the skills of broadcast and film students; and

WHEREAS, Maui Waena's Technology Club joined more than 3,000 middle and high school students from the United States and Russia to attend workshops, network with fellow students and industry professionals, and participate in competitive video creation; and

WHEREAS, the team was awarded first place in the Crazy 8's Broadcast category for producing an eight minute video in just eight hours on the topic of social justice with in-depth reporting coverage of homelessness, vacation rentals, and anti-gun legislation; and

WHEREAS, the students entered nine categories at the convention and placed in seven, continuing a trend of consistent excellence which has garnered the Maui Waena Technology Club awards and honorable mentions at this event since 2010; and

Resolution No. _____

WHEREAS, with the support of teacher Jennifer Suzuki, advisor Jon Asato, sponsors, parents, and other backers, Maui Waena's Technology Club students have stayed true to their school motto "Soaring to Excellence"; and

WHEREAS, the dedication, commitment, and team spirit of Maui Waena's Technology Club have brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the Falcon Entertainment and Engineering Technology Club of Maui Waena Intermediate School for earning top honors at the 14th Annual Student Television Network National Convention; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to Jennifer Suzuki, Maui Waena's Technology Club teacher; Jon Asato, Maui Waena's Technology Club advisor; Jacquelyn McCandless, Interim Principal, Maui Waena Intermediate School; Leila Hayashida, Kahului Complex Area Superintendent, Hawaii State Department of Education; Kathryn Matayoshi, Superintendent, Hawaii State Department of Education; Nancy Held Loucas, Chief Executive Officer, Student Television Network; the student members of Maui Waena's Technology Club: Angelina Alfano, Bryant Asuncion, Gigi Baldonado, Micayla Ban, Czerena Bayle, Tracy Del Rosario, Samantha Della, Navaeh Dempsey, M. J. Dinong, Renzo Gaorian, Jacy Hanada, Ethan Harris, Kaelah Iha, Jaycie Iha, Maria Inong, Gwen Jaramillo, Malie Kamalo, Alyson Kar, Hannah Okamoto, Shyla Orquia, Meledee Ota, Maria Patrocinio, Wincy Perez, Keithjan Quilal-Lan, Cameron Richardson, Glenzy Salcedo, Emily Tom, Logan Tsukiyama, Alexis Viloria, Forrest Stolmeier, and Jadynne Zane; and the Honorable Alan M. Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

reso:paf17-104:aan