Resolution

No.	

CONGRATULATING THE MAUI HIGH SCHOOL BASEBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2017 WALLY YONAMINE FOUNDATION DIVISION I STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, the Maui High School baseball team won the Wally Yonamine Foundation Division I State Championship on April 29, 2017, at Les Murakami Stadium in Honolulu; and

WHEREAS, the Maui High baseball team secured the title with a five run burst in the bottom of the sixth inning, establishing a lead and defeating Waiakea High School 6-1 to claim the school's first State championship since 1982; and

WHEREAS, Maui High beat top seeded Saint Louis, 8-6, in the quarterfinals and Campbell, 6-4, in the semifinals, rallying from three runs down by scoring four times in the sixth inning to advance to the finals; and

WHEREAS, the Maui High School championship players are Micah Jio, Kao Mindoro, Waylon Golis-Bacos, Kyle Oshiro, Bryant Nakagawa, Kaipo Paschoal, Orrion Suda, Kapena Idemoto, Lawrence Joyo, Mahonri Anitema, Treston Carter, Jyrah Lalim, Mikito Barkman, Cole Shadle, Christian Gonsalves Ino, Micah Saki, Kolten Texeira, Haoa Jarnesky, Aidan Vigneux, M. J. Balmores, Josh Nagata and Rayven Ruiz; and

WHEREAS, after stellar pitching in the semifinal and the final games, Mikito Barkman was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player; and

WHEREAS, Maui High entered the state tournament unseeded, and won the state final by beating top seeded and undefeated teams in one of the most remarkable four day runs in tournament history; and

WHEREAS, Maui High's tournament win gave the Maui Interscholastic League consecutive state championships following Baldwin's victory last year, its first since Molokai's back to back titles in 1999 and 2000; and

Resc	lution	No.	

WHEREAS, the hard work, dedication, and team spirit of the Maui High School baseball team, with the support of their dedicated head coach Chase Corniel and assistant coaches Alex Ishikawa, Alika Aheong, Brent Fukugawa, Bryant Sparkman, Leonard Barcoma and Marshall Mindoro, have brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the Maui High School baseball team for winning the Wally Yonamine Foundation Division I State Championship in Honolulu, Hawaii on April 29, 2017; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to the team members and their coaches; Michael Ban, Athletic Director, and Jamie Yap, Principal, Maui High School; Leila Hayashida, Kahului Complex Area Superintendent; Joe Balangitao, Executive Director, Maui Interscholastic League; Christopher Chun, Executive Director, Hawaii High School Athletic Association; the Honorable David Ige, Governor, State of Hawaii; the Honorable Shan Tsutsui, Lieutenant Governor, State of Hawaii; and the Honorable Alan M. Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

reso:paf17-105:aan