Council Chair Mike White

Vice-Chair Robert Carroll

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Stacy Crivello

Councilmembers
Alika Atay
Elle Cochran
Don S. Guzman
Riki Hokama
Kelly T. King
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

August 16, 2017

Mr. Keith Regan, Managing Director Department of Management County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mr. Regan:

SUBJECT: MORATORIUM ON EXPORTING SAND, THE MAUI INLAND SAND RESOURCE QUANTIFICATION STUDY AND SAND MINING REGULATION (IEM-33)

Thank you for your assistance with providing Geographic Information Systems (GIS) staff at the Council's Infrastructure and Environmental Management Committee meeting of August 14, 2017. The mapping and displays provided by GIS were very helpful with the Committee's deliberations.

The Committee is considering a proposed bill that would declare a moratorium on sand mining in Central Maui. The Committee wishes to focus the affected area of the moratorium on vacant land, sand dunes, historical, cultural, and environmentally sensitive areas of Central Maui. The Committee also directed that the affected area of the moratorium should not include developed residential and commercial areas.

Therefore, in an effort to clearly define the affected area of the moratorium may I respectfully request that you provide a map and description of sites as stated above from Waihe'e River to Kealia Pond in the Central Maui area. Please exclude developed areas or areas already subdivided for construction.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. May I also request that you provide your response by **August 29, 2017**, I intend on scheduling this matter for discussion at the meeting of September 12, 2017.

Mr. Keith Regan August 16, 2017 Page 2

To ensure efficient processing, please include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Gary Saldana at ext. 7137, or Stacey Vinoray at ext. 8006).

Sincerely

ELLE COCHRAN, Chair

Infrastructure and

Environmental

Management Committee

Iem:ltr:033adm01:grs

cc: Mayor Alan M. Arakawa Jacob Verkerke, Chief Technology Officer, Information Technology Services Division