Resolution

No.	
NO.	

CONGRATULATING THE LAHAINALUNA HIGH SCHOOL VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2017 FIRST HAWAIIAN BANK DIVISION II STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team won the state title for the second consecutive year at the First Hawaiian Bank Division II State Football Championship at Aloha Stadium on Saturday, November 18, 2017; and

WHEREAS, after seven overtime periods Lahainaluna went on to defeat Konawaena with a 75-69 win in what is being called "one of the wildest games the state has ever seen"; and

WHEREAS, the game took four hours and seventeen minutes and was the highest scoring game in the history of state tournament finals; and

WHEREAS, the Lunas state championship game was a rollercoaster ride of outstanding highlights, record breaking moments, and personal bests accomplished through showmanship, collaboration, and camaraderie; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna has reached the state championship finals five times in the past eleven years; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna High School football has earned a reputation for "iron clad discipline and self-sacrifice" as a "model of virtue in the world of high school athletics"; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna football has become a recognized standard of success which promotes team-building and integrity while encouraging respect and hard work at its highest level; and

Resolutio	n No.	

WHEREAS, the 2017-2018 Lahainaluna High School varsity football team consists of players Kupono Kahae-Ampong, Etuati Storer, Tuipulotu Lai, Dean Miyamoto, Kiliona Keohuloa, Devon Sa-Chisolm, Bailey Honda, Nainoa Irish, Kamahao Acpal, Kamalei Watson, Jesse Dudoit, Kawehi Gillcoat, Mystic Kauhaahaa, Siale Hafoka. Kainoa Chung, Dvlan Smith. William Kai Bookland. Nyles Pokipala-Waiohu, Laakea Shim, Kaihulali Casco, Haaheo Au, Brysen Rickard, Elijah Ragudo, Nathaniel Somera, Elijah Moritz, Aliksa Pihda, Derek Perez, Brian Sandoval, Lennox Kahahane-Lived, Leovigildo Amby, Joshua Tihada, Ken Lee, David Nguyen, Kahiau Yap, Zeff Dudoit, Elijah Oliveira-Kalalau, Jonah Damasco, Sione Faleta, Miki Winter Tufuga, Koa Evalu-Robinson, Dalton Lins, Ikaika Viela, Joshua McCoy, Jason Alani, Apakashi Felemi, Tausinga Hafoka, John Kenneth Caguioa, Hookipa Sakalia, George Bogac, Pablo Rico, Koapakaonalani Purdy. Christopher Estores-Castillo. Braeden Wintermeyer, Taai Galoia, and Ezekiel Villiarimo; and

WHEREAS, the support and dedication of the coaches and staff helped lead the team to success including Co-Head Coaches Garret Tihada and Robert Watson; Assistant Coaches: Michael Arakawa, Randy Arakawa, Randy Casco, Clifford Corniel, Lawrence Kauhaahaa, Dalton Magno, Kekoa Mowat, Dean Rickard, Joey Tihada, Lanny Tihada, Sonnie Waiohu, Kenui Watson, Craig Wise, Aloha Kaniho, Nolle Smith, Andrew Claydon, Victor Akauola, Darren Kawahara, Chase Rogers, Christopher Kaniho; Team Managers: Kayla Delos Santos, Stephanie Han, Kela Kauhaahaa, Hanale Kauhaahaa, Liz Saia, Kaulana Tihada, Kuola Watson; Athletic Trainers: Jonathan Conrad and Rebecca Cohen; Athletic Director Scott Soldwish; and Principal Lynn Kahoohalahala; and

WHEREAS, the Lunas returned home to a warm Lahaina welcome and a community beaming with great pride for the champions; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

1. That it hereby congratulates the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team for winning the 2017 First Hawaiian Bank Division II State Football Championship; and

Resolution	No.	

2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to each member of the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team, their coaches and support staff; Joe Balangitao, Jr., Executive Director, Maui Interscholastic League; Christopher Chun, Executive Director, Hawaii High School Athletic Association; Lindsay Ball, Hana-Lahainaluna-Lanai-Molokai Complex Area Superintendent; and the Honorable Alan M. Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:17-18Reso:17-276:sdp