COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF MAUI

INFRASTRUCTURE AND ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

December 15, 2017

Committee	
Report No.	

Honorable Chair and Members of the County Council County of Maui Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii

Chair and Members:

Your Infrastructure and Environmental Management Committee, having met on November 27, 2017, makes reference to County Communication 17-157, from the Director of Finance, transmitting notice of the acquisition of a road widening lot pursuant to Section 3.44.015(H), Maui County Code ("MCC"), identified for real property tax purposes as a portion of tax map key (2) 3-4-012:044.

According to the Director of Public Works, the lot represents the asphalt-paved portion of Central Avenue, Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii, that encroaches on privately owned property. The lot is 120 feet long and is comprised of approximately 381 square feet of land.

Your Committee is in receipt of a Warranty Deed conveying the lot from Nelson A. Boteilho and Ann C. Boteilho, Trustees under The Nelson and Ann Boteilho Family Trust dated April 7, 1999, to the County. The Warranty Deed was filed with the Bureau of Conveyances, State of Hawaii, on April 4, 2017, and contains the approvals required by Section 3.44.015(G), MCC. According to the Warranty Deed, the road widening lot was acquired with the approval of the Director of Public Works, pursuant to Section 3.44.015(F)(4), MCC.

The Director of Public Works said no County funds were used to acquire the lot.

Your Committee was satisfied with the information provided.

Your Committee voted 5-0 to recommend filing of the communication. Committee Chair Cochran and members Atay, Hokama,

COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF MAUI

INFRASTRUCTURE AND ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Page	2
rago	_

Committee	
Report No.	

Sugimura, and White voted "aye." Committee Vice-Chair Guzman and member Carroll were excused.

Your Infrastructure and Environmental Management Committee RECOMMENDS that County Communication 17-157 be FILED.

This report is submitted in accordance with Rule 8 of the Rules of the Council.

ELLE COCHRAN, Chair

iem:cr:17030aa:mzd