Resolution

No.	

CONGRATULATING THE BALDWIN HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS WRESTLING TEAM FOR WINNING THE TEXACO STATE WRESTLING CHAMPIONSHIPS

WHEREAS, the Baldwin High School girls wrestling team captured their first-ever state team crown at the Texaco State Wrestling Championships on February 14-15, 2018, at the Blaisdell Center Arena in Honolulu, Hawaii; and

WHEREAS, Baldwin's total team score of 157.5 narrowly edged out Kamehameha Schools Kapalama's 157 points; and

WHEREAS, Waipuilani Estrella-Beauchamp won the state title in the 127-pound division, scoring six team points with a pin at 1 minute, 36 seconds, over Alexis Nova Posiulai from Kamehameha Schools Kapalama; and

WHEREAS, Jahnea Miguel defeated top seed Sadie Antoque of Castle High School to win the state title in the 145-pound division; and

WHEREAS, although she won the 127-pound title last year, Jahnea Miguel bypassed the 138-weight class to compete in the 145-weight class during this tournament to help Baldwin win the team title; and

WHEREAS, the Baldwin High School girls wrestling team members include McKenzie Acob, Krissanna Anton, Waipuilani Estrella-Beauchamp, Tianna Fernandez, Celine Gomes, Shayna Kamaka, Jahnea Miguel, Alysha Reinhardt, Tyeisha Takamori, Siera Vida, and Madison Vierra; and

WHEREAS, the support and dedication of coaches Malakai Panuve, Race Hozaki, Matthew Stevenson, Kevin Grant, and Nadine Gomes, guided the team's success; and

Resolution	No.	

WHEREAS, the exceptional performance, dedication, and team spirit of the Baldwin High School girls wrestling team has brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the Baldwin High School girls wrestling team for winning the Texaco State Wrestling Championships; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to each team member and their coaches; Catherine Kilborn, Principal, Baldwin High School; Kathleen Dimino, Maui District Complex Area Superintendent; and the Honorable Alan M. Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:17-18reso:18-079a:sco