## Resolution

CONGRATULATING THE CAST AND CREW OF "KULEANA" FOR WINNING THE BEST OF FESTIVAL AWARD AT THE 7th ANNUAL GUAM INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL

WHEREAS, "Kuleana" won the Best of Festival award at the 7<sup>th</sup> Annual Guam International Film Festival on October 2, 2017, in Hagatna, Guam; and

WHEREAS, "Kuleana" is written and directed by Brian Kohne, an award-winning music producer and independent motion-picture writer, director, and producer, who returned home to Maui in 2005; and

WHEREAS, set on Maui and featuring an all-Hawaii cast, the mystery/drama takes place in two time periods in Hawaii—1959, the year of statehood, and 1971, when a disabled Vietnam veteran rediscovers the Hawaiian warrior within to protect his family, defend their land, and clear his father's name; and

WHEREAS, according to the Festival website, the Guam International Film Festival is the first and only annual U.S. film festival in the western pacific, and strives to capture the passion and spirit of independent filmmakers and their films; and

WHEREAS, "Kuleana" also won the Audience Choice award at the Maui Film Festival, San Antonio Film Festival, and Santa Cruz Film Festival; and the Best Feature award at the Tribal Film Festival; and

WHEREAS, "Kuleana" will open in eight theaters across Hawaii on March 30, 2018, and will also premiere in theaters across the country starting April 13, 2018; and

WHEREAS, the dedication and tireless efforts of the cast and crew of "Kuleana" have brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

Resolution	No.	

## BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the cast and crew of "Kuleana" for winning the Best of Festival award at the 7<sup>th</sup> Annual Guam International Film Festival; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to Brian Kohne, Writer/Director; Stefan Schaefer, Producer/Actor; Adi Ell-Ad, Editor; Byron Warner, Executive Producer; Susan Naylor, Executive Producer; Clyde Ota, Executive Producer; Branscombe Richmond, Executive Producer/Actor; Kathy Collins, Associate Producer; Johnny Wilson, Sound Designer; Willie K, Music Composer; Moronai Kanekoa, Actor; Kainoa Horcajo, Actor/Cultural Liaison; Wayne "Vene" Chun, Actor; Steven Dascoulias, Actor; Kealani Warner, Actor; Teena Rasmussen, Economic Development Director, County of Maui; and the Honorable Alan M. Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:17-18reso:18-091a:sco