Resolution

No._____

CONGRATULATING THE BALDWIN HIGH SCHOOL BASEBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2018 WALLY YONAMINE FOUNDATION/HAWAI'I HIGH SCHOOL ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION DIVISION I STATE BASEBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, the Baldwin High School baseball team captured the State Division I Baseball Championship title on May 11, 2018, at the Les Murakami Stadium on the campus of the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa on the island of O'ahu; and

WHEREAS, the Baldwin Bears beat the Waiākea Warriors 14-4, claiming the school's sixth state championship and making Baldwin High School the proud owners of half of all state baseball Division I titles held by neighbor island teams; and

WHEREAS, the Baldwin Bears represented Maui in fierce competition and now stands third on the all-time state list for Division I baseball titles; and

WHEREAS, the Baldwin Bears were included in the USA Today's Super 25 high school baseball team rankings for eight straight weeks and after their championship win were ranked 10th in the nation; and

WHEREAS, the Baldwin High School baseball team members include Chayce Akaka, Isaiah Akiona, Jacob Chong, Cody Constantino, Danelle Daniels, Bobby Drayer, Haku Dudoit, Kaaimoku Dukelow, Kaipo Haole, Anthony Hoopii-Tuionetoa, Cade Kalehuawehe, Kapena Kamai, Nainoa Keahi, Ekolu Keliikuli-Cuttie, Isaiah Kusunoki, Roy Meinen, Reyn Okita, Josiah Sniffen, Lee Souza, Dawson Tokishi, Kevin Varner Jr., Dylan Waite, and Adam Yamashita; and

WHEREAS, Anthony Hoopii-Tuionetoa was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, and Chayce Akaka, Kaipo Haole, and Nainoa Keahi were named to the All-Tournament Team; and WHEREAS, the Baldwin High School baseball team, with the guidance of their dedicated head coach Shane Dudoit; assistant coaches Shane Awai, Eddie Espiritu, Kimo Higa, Tyson Higa, Aaron Loque, Craig Okita, Gavin Takakura, Leo Tomita, and Dean Yamashita; athletic trainers Kendra Anderson and Scott Pagdilao; and team managers Shalei Awai, Khaylee Kuge, and Blake Pagdilao; and support of their parents, has attained excellence in their sport through their commitment and team spirit; and

WHEREAS, the exceptional performance, dedication, and team spirit of the Baldwin High School baseball team has brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the Baldwin High School baseball team for winning the 2018 Wally Yonamine Foundation/Hawai`i High School Athletic Association Division I State Baseball Championship; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to each member of the team, their coaches, athletic trainers, and team managers; Wade Hondo, Athletic Director, and Catherine Kilborn, Principal, Baldwin High School; Kathleen Dimino, Kahului Complex Area Superintendent; Joe Balangitao, Jr., Executive Director, Maui Interscholastic League; Christopher Chun, Executive Director, Hawai'i High School Athletic Association; the Honorable David Ige, Governor, State of Hawai'i; and the Honorable Alan M. Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

reso:17-18Reso:18-162a