Resolution

No.	
-1	

CONGRATULATING MAUI WINNERS AT THE 2018 HAWAI'I ACADEMY OF RECORDING ARTS NĀ HŌKŪ HANOHANO AWARDS

WHEREAS, the 41st Annual Hawai'i Academy of Recording Arts Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards recognized Hawai'i's top musicians, songwriters, composers, and producers in 36 categories at the Hawai'i Convention Center in Honolulu, O'ahu on May 19, 2018; and

WHEREAS, the Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards are the premier music awards in the State, Hawai'i's equivalent to the Grammy Awards, created to honor talented entertainers who help to perpetuate the Hawaiian culture and whose finalists are selected by the more than 600 members of the Hawai'i Academy of Recording Arts; and

WHEREAS, Maui entertainers had a major presence at this year's awards gala with two acclaimed kumu hula, Nāpua Greig and Kamaka Kukona, bestowed with the most nominations this year; and

WHEREAS, Maui's Nāpua Greig, a multiple Hōkū-winner for her previous recordings, received nine nominations in eight categories for her album, "Makawalu," including Album of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year, Hawaiian Music Album of the Year, and the Hawaiian Language Performance Award; and

WHEREAS, a Grammy nominee in 2015 and also a previous Hōkū-winner for Most Promising Artist of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year for his debut album "Hanu 'A'ala," Maui's Kamaka Kukona was nominated in seven categories for his sophomore album, "Ala Anuhea," including Album of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Hawaiian Music Album of the Year, and the Hawaiian Language Performance Award; and

WHEREAS, reggae group Ekolu, led by Kip Lukela Keala, captured Single of the Year for "We Are Hawai`i's Finest"; and

Resolution No.	lution No.
----------------	------------

WHEREAS, the Most Promising Artist of the Year award was presented to Kumu Hula Pono Murray of Leipono for his debut release "Ku'u Pualei," a tribute to Murray's kumu with a mix of traditional Hawaiian, jazz, and swing that chronicles his own hula journey; and

WHEREAS, musician and producer Halemanu won Island Music Album of the Year for "So The Story Goes"; and

WHEREAS, Maui's Jeff Peterson, along with friends Greg Sardinha and Tsun-Hui Hung, won Instrumental of the Year for "Across the Sea"; and

WHEREAS, owner and creative director of Maui-based Artistry8, Wailani Artates, earned her third Hōkū award for graphics, and Dave Tucciarone won the Hawaiian Engineering Award, both for their work on Nāpua Greig's "Makawalu"; and

WHEREAS, all the distinguished awardees have bridged generations by perpetuating their love for the Hawaiian culture with their chosen platform, touching many lives with their gifts of music and design; and

WHEREAS, the exceptional recognition received by these talented and dedicated artists has brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates Maui winners at the 2018 Hawai'i Academy of Recording Arts Nā Hökū Hanohano Awards; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to Nāpua Greig; Kamaka Kukona; Kip Lukela Keala; Pono Murray; Halemanu; Jeff Peterson; Greg Sardinha; Tsun-Hui Hung; Wailani Artates; Dave Tucciarone; and the Honorable Alan M. Arakawa, Mayor of the County of Maui.