Council Chair Mike White

Vice-Chair Robert Carroll

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Stacy Crivello

Councilmembers
Alika Atay
Elle Cochran
Don S. Guzman
Riki Hokama
Kelly T. King
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



## **COUNTY COUNCIL**

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

April 16, 2018

Mr. William Spence, Director Department of Planning County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mr. Spence:

SUBJECT: VISITOR ACCOMMODATIONS IN THE PAIA-HAIKU COMMUNITY PLAN AREA (LU-54)

Thank you for your response dated February 28, 2018, relating to this matter.

May I please request the following additional information:

1. Section 19.65.070, Maui County Code, provides for duration, renewal, and nonrenewal of Short-Term Rental Home ("STRH") permits. Under this section, initial STRH permits are valid for a maximum period of three years, with shorter periods allowed to mitigate impacts. Permit renewals may be granted by the director for terms of up to five years for Maui.

For each of the eight STRH permitted properties that abut the shoreline, please provide a breakdown of the following:

- a. When each permit was initially granted;
- b. The length of the initial term;
- c. Whether a renewal has been requested and if so, whether it was granted, denied, or remains pending;

- d. Whether the renewal request, if any, was decided by the Director or the Maui Planning Commission;
- e. The length of the renewal, if any, and when the permit is set to expire; and
- f. Whether any special conditions were imposed relating to the duration or renewal of the permit.
- 2. Of the six applications for new STRH permits within the Paia-Haiku Community Plan area that are pending approval, how many are for properties abutting the shoreline?

May I please request your response by **Wednesday, April 25, 2018.** To ensure efficient processing, please include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Alec Wagner at ext. 7662, Carla Nakata at ext. 7659, or Rayna Yap at ext. 8007).

Sincerely,

ROBERT CARROLL, Chair Land Use Committee

nober Carroll

lu:ltr:054apl02:cmn

cc: Mayor Alan M. Arakawa David Raatz, Administrative Planning Officer, Department of Planning