Resolution

No.	

CONGRATULATING THE LAHAINALUNA HIGH SCHOOL VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THEIR THIRD CONSECUTIVE DIVISION II STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team won the state title for the third consecutive year at the 2018 First Hawaiian Bank Division II State Football Championship at Aloha Stadium on Saturday, November 24, 2018; and

WHEREAS, after a 19-point halftime deficit, the Lahainaluna Lunas came back with a vengeance to defeat Kapaa with a 34-32 win, proving their resilience and strength as a team; and

WHEREAS, the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team is just the sixth Maui Interscholastic League team to finish a season undefeated overall; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna has reached the state championship finals six times in the past twelve years; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna has won 21 straight games and are one of only three teams in Hawaii State history to win three straight state football crowns, in any division; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna High School football continues to have a hard-earned reputation for "iron clad discipline and self-sacrifice" as a "model of virtue in the world of high school athletics"; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna football upholds a recognized standard of success which promotes team-building and integrity while encouraging respect and hard work at its highest level; and

WHEREAS, the 2018-2019 Lahainaluna High School varsity football team consists of players Devon Sa Chisolm, Etuati Storer, Esekielu Storer, Brysen Rickard, Jonah Damasco, Imee Koike, Treven Tihada, Nainoa Irish,

Resolution	No.	
------------	-----	--

Kamaha'o Acpal, Kamalei Watson, Jesse Dudoit, Kawehi Dudoit, Brian Sandoval, Tre Rickard, Ivanhoe Mathias, William Kai Bookland, Lennox Kaihulali Matthew Rabino, Kahahane-Lived. Casco, Kulukulualani-Sales, Paea Tasini, Kekailoa Cajudoy, Jake Bell, Derek Perez, Kenneth Bell, Richard Olmohs, Joshua Tihada, Zeff Dudoit, Kuha'o Kane, Sheldon Frias, Elijah Oliveira-Kalalau, Austin Panlasigui, Miki Winter-Tufuga, Cobe John Nakamura, Apakasi Felemi, Kainalu Ka`ilila`au, Tysyn Estrella, Nikolas Kron, Tuipulotu Lai, Ikaika Tihada-Viela, Joshua McCoy, Dylan Takahashi-Sagapolutele, Tausinga Hafoka, Austin Saribay, Armani Treu, Keven Murillo, Hookipa Sakalia, Kaine Nakamura, Hector Murillo, Pablo Rico, Shayla Kanemitsu, Isaiah Ah Wah, Rylend Nobriga, Taai Galoia and Nyles Pokipala-Waiohu; and

WHEREAS, the support and dedication of the coaches and staff helped lead the team to success including Co-Head Coaches Garret Tihada and Robert Watson; Assistant Coaches Michael Arakawa, Randy Arakawa, Randy Casco, Clifford Corniel, Lawrence Kauhaahaa, Dalton Magno, Kekoa Mowat, Dean Rickard, Chase Rogers, Joseph Tihada, Sonnie Waiohu, Kenui Watson, Craig Wise, Aloha Kaniho, Nolle Smith, James Hapakuka, Andrew Claydon, Darren Kawahara, Lono Kaina, Lanny Tihada, Shane Treu, and George Tadakuma; Team Managers Stephanie Han, Sami Saribay, Brooke Whitehead, Fayanie Rosario, Rebecca Segura, Hannah Aiwohi, Hanalei Kauhaahaa, Kahi Magno, LJ Morikawa, Kaulana Tihada, Kuola Watson, Addison Wise, Jordyn Wise, and Peyton Wise; Athletic Trainers Jonathan Conrad and Rebecca Cohen; and Athletic Director Scott Soldwisch; and

WHEREAS, with the support and dedication of their parents, the Friends of Lahainaluna Football, and the school community, the Lunas have attained excellence through commitment and sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, the Lunas returned home to a community beaming with great pride for the champions, and through exceptional dedication and team spirit have brought pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team for winning their third consecutive Division II State Football Championship; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to each member of the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team, coaches and support staff; Lynn Kaho`ohalahala, Principal, Lahainaluna High School; Joe Balangitao, Jr., Executive Director, Maui Interscholastic League; Christopher Chun, Executive Director, Hawaii High School Athletic Association; Lindsay Ball, Hana-Lahainaluna-Lanai-Molokai Complex Area Superintendent; and the Honorable Alan M. Arakawa, Mayor, County of Maui.

paf:17-18reso:18-302