REQUEST FOR LEGAL SERVICES

Policy, Economic Development, and Agriculture Committee

November 21, 2018

Yuki Lei K. Sugimura, Chair

Date: From:

Attachment

Memo to:	DEPARTMENT OF Attention: <u>Edwar</u>			SEL
Subject: ESTA	BLISHING THE WE	ST MAUI CO	MMUNITY PLA	N ADVISORY COMMITTEE
(PEA-75)				
Background Dat	a: Please review and,	<u>if appropriate</u>	e, approve as to fo	orm and legality the attached
revised propo	sed resolution inco	porating revi	sions made to	Exhibits "B" and "C" at the
November 20.	, 2018 PEA Committ	ee meeting.	<u>Please also inclu</u>	ide a signed hard copy with
your response	<u>.</u>			
Work Requested	: [X] FOR APPROVAL	LAS TO FORM A	AND LEGALITY	
Requestor's sign	ature `		Contact Person	
Wuxi La	5 K. SUMMUL		Shelly Espeleta	
Yuki Lei K. S	ugimura ()		(Telephone Extension:	7134)
[X] SPECIFY DU REASON: <u>To su</u>	ITHIN 10 WORKING DAY JE DATE (IF IMPOSED B' bmit for posting on the I TION COUNSEL'S RESP	Y SPECIFIC CIR December 11, 20		November 29, 2018
ASSIGNED TO:		ASSIGNMENT NO.		BY:
TO REQUESTOR.	: [] APPROVED [] DISAP. [] RETURNINGPLEASE .	• •	•	•
COMMENTS (NO	TE - THIS SECTION NOT	TO BE USED FO	R LEGAL ADVICE): _	
			DEPARTMENT	OF THE CORPORATION COUNSEL
Date			By	(D. 77(00)
pea:ltr:075acc02:s	ske			(Rev. 7/03)

Resolution

No.	

APPOINTMENTS TO THE WEST MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, Section 2.80B.080, Maui County Code, provides as follows:

- "A. Each of the County's nine community plans shall, to the extent practicable, be updated within ten years (decennially) of the respective plan's adoption. The decision as to the order of updating the nine community plans shall be decided by the council.
- B. There shall be a community plan advisory committee for each community plan area set forth in section 2.80B.070.B. Except for the community plan advisory committee for the Kahoolawe community plan, each community plan advisory committee shall consist of residents of the corresponding community plan area and shall hold all meetings in the corresponding community plan area.
- Each community plan advisory committee shall be composed of thirteen members, nine appointed by the council and four by the mayor. In making such appointments, the council and the mayor shall strive for diversity and balance of age, gender, background, profession, heritage, experience, and ideology on each committee. The council and the mayor shall give priority to people who have a strong connection to all parts of the corresponding community plan area and have expressed a strong commitment to participate in and attend all committee meetings. Prior or current service as a member of a general plan advisory committee shall not disqualify an individual from serving on a community plan committee. Each community plan committee is charged with reviewing and recommending revisions to the community plan for its community plan area. The mayor and council shall appoint the members of each community plan advisory committee in accordance with the timing established in subsection A and the following procedure:

Re	90	1111	4:	Λn	No	
7.6	วน	ıιu		$\mathbf{o}\mathbf{n}$	710	

- 1. The department of planning shall submit to the council a request to initiate the establishment of a community plan advisory committee, including the requested deadline for appointment of the members.
- 2. The council shall establish a community plan advisory committee information sheet, application, and nominee contact information form.
- 3. The council shall issue a press release seeking applications for a community plan advisory committee by a requested deadline.
- 4. The council may extend the deadline for applications in the event it does not receive a sufficient number of qualified applicants.
- 5. The council shall appoint nine community plan advisory committee members by resolution."; and

WHEREAS, the West Maui Community Plan - Ordinance 2476 (1996), as amended, is the current community plan for West Maui; and

WHEREAS, by County Communication 18-134, the Planning Director requested the Council initiate the establishment of the West Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Council sought applications for community plan committee member nominees, issued a press release, and set a deadline for applications; and

WHEREAS, the persons listed in Exhibit "A," attached hereto, submitted an application form to be considered by the Council for a position on the West Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee by the applicable deadline; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 2.80B.080(F), Maui County Code, the West Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee shall remain in existence until the enactment of an ordinance adopting the decennial revision to the West Maui Community Plan; now, therefore,

Resolution No.

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby approves the appointment of the persons listed in Exhibit "B," attached hereto, as members to the West Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee; and
- 2. That it hereby disapproves the appointment of the persons listed in Exhibit "C" as members to the West Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee; and
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to all applicants for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, the Managing Director, the Planning Director, the Corporation Counsel, and each of the Council's appointed members to the West Maui Community Plan Advisory Committee.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

EDWARD S. KUSHI, JR.
First Deputy Corporation Counsel
County of Maui

pea:misc:075areso01:ske

NOMINATED MEMBERS

WEST MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Joseph Aquino
Ravi Bugga
Yvette Joyce Celiz
Lee Allen Chamberlain
Karen J. Comcowich
Donald Robert Gerbig
Dawn Hegger-Nordblom
Paul I. Laub
Michele L. Lincoln
Rick Mejia Nava
Kai Nishiki
Dylan G. Payne
Joseph D. Pluta
Leilani Reyes Pulmano
Leo Joseph Thiner-Brickey

APPROVED MEMBERS

WEST MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Joseph Aquino
Ravi Bugga
Yvette Joyce Celiz
Donald Robert Gerbig
Dawn Hegger-Nordblom
Rick Mejia Nava
Kai Nishiki
Joseph D. Pluta
Leilani Reyes Pulmano

DISAPPROVED MEMBERS

WEST MAUI COMMUNITY PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Lee Allen Chamberlain Karen J. Comcowich Paul I. Laub Michele L. Lincoln Dylan G. Payne Leo Joseph Thiner-Brickey