Council Chair Kelly T. King

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Riki Hokama Alice L. Lee Michael J. Molina Tamara Paltin Shane M. Sinenci Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

January 4, 2019

Director of Council Services Maria E. Zielinski

RECEIVED

Mr. Josiah K. Nishita, County Clerk Office of the County Clerk County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mr. Nishita:

## SUBJECT: RESOLUTION APPROVING THE HAWAII STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES REPRESENTATIVE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2019

May I request the attached proposed resolution, entitled "APPROVING THE HAWAII STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES REPRESENTATIVE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2019," be placed on the next Council meeting agenda.

Sincerely,

Kelly T. King

KELLY T. KING Council Chair

paf:tntf:19-002d

Attachment

COUNTY COMMUNICATION NO. 19-10

## Resolution

No. \_\_\_\_\_

## APPROVING THE HAWAII STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES REPRESENTATIVE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2019

WHEREAS, Section 5 of the Hawaii State Association of Counties ("HSAC") Bylaws requires each County Council to appoint one of its members to serve as an officer of the HSAC Executive Committee whose term shall begin July 1 of the ensuing fiscal year; and

WHEREAS, Section 5 of the HSAC Bylaws also requires that in making the appointment, each Council shall delegate to the appointees sufficient authority to formulate the proposed slate of officers; and

WHEREAS, by Resolution 18-74, the Council approved Councilmember Riki Hokama to be the alternate representative for the term commencing on July 1, 2018, and ending on June 30, 2019; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it does hereby appoint Council Chair Kelly T. King to be the HSAC representative for the term commencing at twelve o'clock meridian on January 2, 2019, and ending on June 30, 2019; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to the HSAC Executive Committee.

paf:tntf:19-002a