Vice-Chair

Robert Carroll

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Stacy Crivello

Councilmembers Alika Atay Elle Cochran Don S. Guzman Riki Hokama Kelly T. King Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



## COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 29, 2017

Mr. William Spence, Director Department of Planning County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mr. Spence:

SUBJECT: BEACH EROSION, SEA LEVEL RISE, STORMS AND FLOODING **IMPACTS** ON COUNTY

**INFRASTRUCTURE** (IEM-26)

At its meeting of March 20, 2017, the Council's Infrastructure and Environmental Management Committee received a presentation regarding the Beach Management Plan (Plan), Second Edition, June 2008.

During the presentation, Tara Owens, Coastal Processes and Hazards Specialist, and James Buika, Coastal Zone Management Planner, discussed 13 recommendations outlined in the Plan. The 13 focus areas of recommendations promote beach preservation and natural asset management. The Plan also noted that within each of the 13 recommendations, there are an additional 91 recommendations, 27% of which have been completed.

During its discussion, the Committee requested the top funding priorities within the 13 recommendations to help the Council with its deliberations of the Fiscal Year 2018 Budget. In response Mr. Buika stated he did not want to speculate on what the Department of Planning would identify as priorities. Therefore, Mr. Buika indicated that the inquiry would be more appropriately submitted to the Planning Director.

Accordingly, may I respectfully request that you provide the Department of Planning's top funding priorities from the list of recommendations provided in the Plan.

Mr. William Spence March 29, 2017 Page 2

Thank you for your consideration of this request. May I also request that you submit your written response by **Monday, April 17, 2017**.

To ensure efficient processing, please include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Gary Saldana at ext. 7137, or Stacey Vinoray at ext. 8006).

Sincerely,

ELLE COCHRAN, Chair

Infrastructure and Environmental Management Committee

iem:ltr:026apl01:grs

cc: Mayor Alan M. Arakawa Tara, Owens, Coastal Processes and Hazards Specialist James Buika, Coastal Zone Management Planner