Council Chair Kelly T. King

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Riki Hokama
Alice L. Lee
Michael J. Molina
Tamara Paltin
Shane M. Sinenci
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 19, 2019

Mr. Scott Teruya, Director Department of Finance County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mr. Teruya:

SUBJECT: FISCAL YEAR ("FY") 2020 BUDGET (FN-2) (EDB-1)

Section 20 of the General Budget Provisions in the FY 2019 Budget provides, in pertinent part: "The Director of Finance is authorized to transfer appropriations from programs under countywide costs to departments where generally accepted accounting principles require such transfer to properly reflect the financial accounting of such department; provided, however, that the total appropriation transferred shall not exceed the appropriation of the respective program in countywide costs; and provided, further, that the County Council shall receive notice of such transfer with an explanation of the action."

May I please request you respond to the following:

- 1. For FY 2019, beginning July 1, 2018 to date, have there been any such transfers from countywide costs to a department? If so, provide a copy of the notification to the Council.
- 2. For the remainder of FY 2019, are there any anticipated transfers from countywide costs? If so, please provide the department, program, amount of anticipated transfer, and reason for the transfer.

May I further request you transmit the information by **April 1, 2019**, to enable the Committee to discuss your responses while deliberating the FY 2020 Budget.

Mr. Scott Teruya March 19, 2019 Page 2

To ensure efficient processing, please duplicate the coding in the subject line above for easy reference.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Leslee Matthews at ext. 7662, or Yvette Bouthillier at ext. 7758).

Sincerely,

KEANI RAWLINS-FERNANDEZ, Chair

Economic Development and Budget

Committee

edb:2020bgt:190318afn02:cmn

cc: Mayor Michael P. Victorino Budget Director