Council Chair Kelly T. King

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Riki Hokama
Alice L. Lee
Michael J. Molina
Tamara Paltin
Shane M. Sinenci
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

April 1, 2019

Ms. Rowena Dagdag-Andaya, Deputy Director Department of Public Works County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Ms. Dagdag-Andaya:

SUBJECT: FISCAL YEAR ("FY") 2020 BUDGET (PW-4) (EDB-1))

May I please request a response to the following:

- 1. Please provide a list of all of the Department's proposed capital improvement projects organized from highest priority to lowest priority, with an explanation for the prioritization.
- 2. As it relates to CBS-1916, Wakea Avenue and Kamehameha Avenue Intersection Improvements (Program Budget, pages 838-839), please provide further information on the "Wakea Avenue corridor traffic study." Has the study been conducted yet? If so, please provide the summary findings and conclusions. If not, please provide the scope of the study and describe the intersection improvements the Department is considering for the subject intersection.
- 3. For CBS-5485, South Kihei Road Sidewalk Improvements (Program Budget, page 813), \$1.9 million is being requested for design and construction of approximately 0.6 miles of sidewalk. The project was appropriated \$200,000 in FY 2019. By comparison, \$0.6 million is being requested for CBS-5492, Ohukai Road Sidewalk Improvements (Program Budget, page 814), for construction of 0.3 miles of sidewalk. Please explain the cost differential between the two projects.

Ms. Rowena Dagdag-Andaya April 1, 2019 Page 2

May I further request you transmit the information by **April 10, 2019**, to enable the Committee to discuss your responses while deliberating the FY 2020 Budget.

To ensure efficient processing, please duplicate the coding in the subject line above for easy reference.

Should you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Leslee Matthews at ext. 7662, Shelly Espeleta at ext. 7134, Christy Chung at 7137, or Yvette Bouthillier at ext. 7758).

Sincerely,

KEANI RAWLINS-FERNANDEZ, Chair Economic Development and Budget

Kufafi-Far

Committee

edb:2020bgt:190330apw03:jgk

cc: Mayor Michael P. Victorino Budget Director