Council Chair Kelly T. King

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Riki Hokama Alice L. Lee Michael J. Molina Tamara Paltin Shane M. Sinenci Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Director of Council Services Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

RECEIVED

TAN

9

COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

May 10, 2019

The Honorable Kelly T. King Council Chair County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Chair King:

SUBJECT: ADOPTING THE FUEL TAX RATES FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI, EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2019 (EDB-1)

May I request the attached proposed resolution, entitled "ADOPTING THE FUEL TAX RATES FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI, EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2019," be placed on the next Council meeting agenda.

Sincerely,

lti-P-

KEANI N.W. RAWLINS-FERNANDEZ Chair, Economic Development and Budget Committee

edb:2020bgt:001ach02:ldm

Attachment

COUNTY COMMUNICATION NO. 19-212

Resolution

No. _____

ADOPTING THE FUEL TAX RATES FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI, EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2019

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

1. That, in accordance with Section 243-5 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes and Section 3.20.010 of the Maui County Code, the fuel tax rates, effective July 1, 2019, shall be set as follows:

HIGHWAY FUND

	Tax Rate
<u>Fuel Tax - Maui, Molokai, Lanai</u>	Per Gallon
Gasoline & Diesel Oil	\$0.230
Biodiesel (B100)	\$0.000
Biodiesel Blend (other than B100)	\$0.115
Ethanol	\$0.115
Methanol	\$0.115
Liquefied Petroleum Gas	\$0.115

2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, County of Maui; the Director of Finance, County of Maui; and the Director of Taxation, State of Hawaii.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

JEFFREY UEOKA Deputy Corporation Counsel County of Maui

edb:2020bgt:reso fuel tax (council) (FY20)