## **\***✓MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION (9 Members)

NOTE: Effective April 10, 2017, Ordinance 4431, amended Section 2.28.070, Maui County Code, to read as follows: "Planning commission and advisory committee membership requirements. At least one member of each planning commission and Hana advisory committee shall have demonstrated expertise in native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices, as evidenced by one or more of the following credentials: 1. A college degree in a relevant field, such as Hawaiian studies, native Hawaiian law, native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices, including traditional environmental practices, or related subject area. 2. Work history that demonstrates an appropriate level of knowledge in native Hawaiian traditional and customary practices, including traditional environmental practices. 3. Substantial experience as a native Hawaiian traditional and customary practitioner."

Enabling Legislation:

MCC Sections 2.28.010 and 2.28.070, and Charter Sections 8-8.4 and 13-2 (Must be resident of Maui)

• (2 ex-officio members: Director of Public Works; and Director of Water Supply)

Supporting Department:

Department of Planning

MEMBERS	PARTY AFFIL.	DISTRICT	EXPIRATION DATE	DATE OF COUNCIL MEETING	ВУ
1. Thurston Robinson	N	Kahului	03/31/20	03/06/15	CR 15-15 (Res. 15-22)
2. VACANTDale Thompson <sup>1</sup>	<u>N</u> Đ	<u>Lahaina</u> Kihei	03/31/20	06/21/19	
3. Lawrence Carnicelli	N	Pukalani	03/31/21	02/26/16	CR 16-31 (Res. 16-25)
4. Stephen Castro	D A	Kahului	03/31/21	02/26/16	CR 16-31 (Res. 16-25)
5. Calmentina "Tina" Gomes	D	Kahului	03/31/22	03/10/17	CR 17-28 (Res. 17-43)
6. Christian Tackett	N	Wailuku	03/31/22	03/10/17	CR 17-28 (Res. 17-43)
7. Alalani HillLorraine Sablas*2	D	Kihei	03/31/23	06/21/19Rea	CR 18-40 (Res. 18-40)
				<del>ppointed on</del>	
	A			<del>03/09/18</del>	
8. P. Denise La Costa	I	Lahaina	03/31/23	03/09/18	CR 18-40 (Res. 18-40)
9. Kellie Pali	Ti /	Kihei	03/31/24	Reappointed	CR 19-24 (Res. 19-51)
				on 03/08/19	,

<sup>\*</sup>Designated as the Native Hawaiian Traditional and Customary Practices expert

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Replaced Lawrence Hudson who resigned on 04/09/19

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>Replaced Alalani Hill who resigned on 05/15/19