Resolution

No. _____

CONGRATULATING THE LAHAINALUNA HIGH SCHOOL VARSITY FOOTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THEIR FOURTH CONSECUTIVE DIVISION II STATE FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team won the State title for the fourth consecutive year at the 2019 Hawaii High School Athletic Association Division II State Football Championship at Aloha Stadium on Friday, November 29, 2019; and

WHEREAS, the Lunas exemplified synergy and tenacity with a 21-10 win over Kapaa in the State championship game; and

WHEREAS, with a persistent and unwavering spirit, the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team finished their third consecutive season undefeated in the Maui Interscholastic League; and

WHEREAS, the Lunas have remained a force to be reckoned with, competing in the Division II State Football Championship games seven times since 2007; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna High School's football team has earned a reputation among their competitors as a consistent "machine that repeats its strengths over and over again"; and

WHEREAS, Lahainaluna High School's football program has established a community of players who exhibit grit, self-sacrifice, exemplary character, and humility on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, the 2019 Lahainaluna High School varsity football team consists of players Shawn Abut, Neil Agbayani, Jaysen Akahi-Vida, Noah Arase, Julian Armstrong, Jake Bell, Kai Bookland, Kekailoa Cajudoy, Kaihulali Casco, William Casco, Christian Clarion, Tysyn Estrella, Cyrus Freitas, Taai Galoia, David Hong, Nephi Hong, Nainoa Irish, Jedemy Kahahane-Lived, John Kaililaau, Keanu Kaina, Shaun Kana, Shayla Kanemitsu, Lita Kaufononga, Dylan Kawaiaea, Nico Knickerbocker,

Resolution No. _____

Nikolas Kron, Nainoa Kulukulualani-Sales, Tuipolotu Lai, Koliniasi Latu, Nicki Liwanag, Benjamin Lolesio, Roger Luna, Matai Mataafa, Ekolu Mathias, Kaliakeanukoakilakilaokaimiloa McCabe, Hector Murillo, Keven Murillo, Roger Nifon, Rylend Nobriga, Carter Oldham, Richard Olmohs, Kaeo Pedroza-Kanemitsu, Derek Perez, Kaelen Potter, Khyren Purdy, Matthew Rabino, Brysen Rickard, Tre Rickard, Devon Sa-Chisolm, Hookipa Sakalia, Brian Sandoval, Austin Saribay, Sky Smith, Esekielu Storer, Blare Sylva-Viela, Dylan Takahashi-Sagapolutele, Joshua Tihada, and Treven Tihada; and

WHEREAS, the team's success is also attributable to the support and dedication of coaches and staff, including Head Coaches Dean Rickard and Robert Watson; Assistant Coaches Michael Arakawa, Randy Arakawa, Randy Casco, Andy Claydon, Clifford Corniel, James Hapakuka, Aloha Kaniho, Chris Kaniho, Lawrence Kauhaahaa, Darren Kawahara, Jeff Kihune, Dalton Magno, Kekoa Mowat, Chase Rogers, Nolle Smith, Garret Tihada, Joseph Tihada, Lanny Tihada, Sonnie Waiohu, Kenui Watson, and Craig Wise; Team Managers Hannah Aiwohi, Jonah Mae Cordova, Lia Kaniho, Hanalei Kauhaahaa, Rebecca Segura, Lokelani Smith, Kaulana Tihada, and Kuola Watson; Athletic Trainers Rebecca Cohen and Jonathan Conrad; and Athletic Director Scott Soldwisch; and

WHEREAS, with the support and dedication of their parents, the Friends of Lahainaluna Football, the school community, and Maui County's football fans, the Lunas have achieved excellence through commitment and sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, the Lunas' exceptional performance, hard work, and camaraderie have brought great pride and honor to the people of the County of Maui; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it hereby congratulates the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team for winning their fourth consecutive Division II State Football Championship; and
- 2. That certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to each member of the Lahainaluna High School varsity football team, coaching staff, and support staff; Lynn Kahoohalahala, Principal, Lahainaluna High School; Joe Balangitao, Jr.,

Resolution No. _____

Executive Director, Maui Interscholastic League; Christopher Chun, Executive Director, Hawaii High School Athletic Association; Lindsay Ball, Hana-Lahainaluna-Lanai-Molokai Complex Area Superintendent, Hawaii State Department of Education; and the Honorable Michael P. Victorino, Mayor, County of Maui.

reso:19-20reso:19-370a:arl