Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Riki Hokama
Kelly Takaya King
Michael J. Molina
Tamara Paltin
Shane M. Sinenci
Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.usA

April 8, 2020

Director of Council Services Traci N. T. Fujita, Esq.

RECEIVED

2020 APR -9 AM 8: 40

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY CLERK

The Honorable Alice L. Lee Council Chair County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Chair Lee:

SUBJECT: FUEL TAX RESOLUTION (EDB-1)

May I request that the following attached proposed resolution, entitled "ADOPTING THE FUEL TAX RATES FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI, EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2020," be placed on the next Council meeting agenda.

Sincerely,

Keari Rufin-Farmery

KEANI N.W. RAWLINS-FERNANDEZ, Chair Economic Development and Budget Committee

edb:ltr:2021bgt:001ach01:ske

Attachment

Resolution

ADOPTING THE FUEL TAX RATES FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI, EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2020

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

1. That in accordance with Section 243-5 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes and Section 3.20.010 of the Maui County Code, the fuel tax rates, effective July 1, 2020, shall be set as follows:

HIGHWAY FUND

	Tax Rate
Fuel Tax - Maui, Molokai, Lanai	Per Gallon
Gasoline & Diesel Oil	\$0.230
Biodiesel (B100)	\$0.000
Biodiesel Blend (other than B100)	\$0.060
Ethanol	\$0.115
Methanol	\$0.115
Liquefied Petroleum Gas	\$0.115

2. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, County of Maui; the Director of Finance, County of Maui; and the Director of Taxation, State of Hawaii.

edb:misc:001areso01:ske