Director of Council Services

Traci Fujita

Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Riki Hokama Kelly T. King Michael J. Molina Tamara Paltin Shane M. Sinenci Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 25, 2020



周 M

The Honorable Michael P. Victorino Mayor, County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mayor Victorino:

SUBJECT: DISAPPROVAL OF NOMINEES

At the Regular Council meeting of March 13, 2020, the Council disapproved the nomination of Ms. Jennifer Salisbury to the Maui Planning Commission. A copy of Resolution No. 20-40 is enclosed for your reference and file.

This notification is provided to you pursuant to Section 13-2(16), Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended.

Sincerely.

ALICE L. LEE Council Chair

Enclosure

Governance, Ethics, and Transparency Committee cc: Director of Council Services County Clerk

Resolution

No. 20-40

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WHEREAS, by correspondence dated January 22, 2020, Acting Mayor Sananda K. Baz notified the Council he nominated the persons listed in Exhibit "A", attached hereto, as members to the Maui Planning Commission for the County of Maui, pursuant to Sections 2.28.010 and 2.28.070, Maui County Code ("MCC"), and Sections 8-8.4 and 13-2, Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended ("Charter"); and

WHEREAS, Section 13-2 of the Charter requires the Mayor's nominees to be approved by the Council; and

WHEREAS, Section 13-2(16) of the Charter requires the Council to approve or disapprove the nominations within sixty days after the Mayor submits the name of the nominees to the Council; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it approves the appointment of the persons listed in Exhibit "B", attached hereto, as members to the Maui Planning Commission for the term as specified therein; and
- 2. That it hereby disapproves the appointment of the persons listed in Exhibit "C" as members to the Maui Planning Commission as nominated by the Mayor; and
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the appointed members for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, the Managing Director, and the Corporation Counsel.

APPROVED AS TO FORM

AND LEGALITY:

EDWARD S. KUSHI, JR.

First Deputy Corporation Counsel

County of Maui

get:misc:002(30)areso13:ljcm

NOMINATED MEMBERS AND TERMS

MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION

Dale Thompson (Reappoint) Jennifer Salisbury

Term Expiration 3/31/25 Term Expiration 3/31/25

APPROVED MEMBERS AND TERMS

MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION

Dale Thompson (Reappoint)

Term Expiration 3/31/25

DISAPPROVED MEMBERS

MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION

Jennifer Salisbury

COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WAILUKU, HAWAII 96793

CERTIFICATION OF ADOPTION

It is HEREBY CERTIFIED that RESOLUTION NO. 20-40 was adopted by the Council of the County of Maui, State of Hawaii, on the 13th day of March, 2020, by the following vote:

MEMBERS	Alice L. LEE Chair	Keani N. W. RAWLINS- FERNANDEZ Vice-Chair	G, Riki HOKAMA	Natalie A. KAMA	Kelly T. KiNG	Michael J. MOLiNA	Tamara A. M. PALTIN	Shane M. SINENCI	Yuki Lei K. SUGIMURA
ROLL CALL	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Excused	Excused

COUNTY CLERK