Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Gabe Johnson Kelly Takaya King Michael J. Molina Tamara Paltin Shane M. Sinenci Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



COUNTY COUNCIL COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 1, 2021

Mr. Marc Takamori, Director Department of Transportation County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mr. Takamori:

## SUBJECT: OPERATIONAL AND BUDGETARY REVIEW OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION (IT-19)

May I please request the following information:

- 1. A cost analysis comparison and explanation of impacts when defining public transit fares for passengers 55 years and older, 60 years and older, and 65 years and older.
- 2. A cost analysis comparison and explanation of impacts when defining the paratransit rate for unlimited rides, 11 rides, and 12 rides.
- 3. The Department's recommendations to increase revenue for the Maui Bus or similar transit services, and ways to provide ridership education to the public.
- 4. Regarding CARES Act funding:
  - What is the amount and percentage of funding used towards administrative fees?
  - How much has been spent to date and where has it been allocated?
  - How much of the funds remain unencumbered?
- 5. Percentage of the Highway Fund revenue allocated to the Department.

- 6. Department's plans to expand existing services or increase mass transit options in Maui County.
- 7. A cost analysis comparison and explanation on why the City and County of Honolulu's TheBus is able to offer significantly lower passenger rates than the Maui Bus.
- 8. Clarification from the Federal Transit Administration on whether Maui County qualifies for Tribal Transportation Funding.

May I please request your written response by **March 12, 2021**. To ensure efficient processing, please transmit your response to <u>it.committee@mauicounty.us</u> and include the relevant Committee item number in the subject line of your response.

If you have any questions, please contact me or the Committee staff (Laksmi Abraham at ext. 7659, Lesley Milner at ext. 7886, or Clarita Balala at ext. 7668).

Sincerely,

YUK) LEI K. SUGIMURA, Chair Infrastructure and Transportation Committee

it:ltr:019atd01:lma

cc: Mayor Michael P. Victorino