Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers Gabe Johnson Kelly T. King Michael J. Molina Tamara Paltin Shane M. Sinenci Yuki Lei K. Sugimura



**COUNTY COUNCIL** 

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 8, 2021



 $\dot{\infty}$ 

PM I:

 $\boldsymbol{\omega}$ 

D

m

 $\bigcirc$ 

П

 $\leq$ 

 $\bigcirc$ 

**Director of Council Services** 

Traci Fujita

The Honorable Michael P. Victorino Mayor, County of Maui Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

Dear Mayor Victorino:

#### SUBJECT: DISAPPROVAL OF NOMINEES

At the Regular Council meeting of March 5, 2021, the Council disapproved the nomination of Ms. Sherrilee Dodson to the Maui Planning Commission. A copy of Resolution No. 21-47 is enclosed for your reference and file.

This notification is provided to you pursuant to Section 13-2(16), Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended.

Sincerely,

ALICE L. LEE Council Chair

Enclosure

cc: Government Relations, Ethics, and Transparency Committee Director of Council Services County Clerk

# Resolution

#### No. <u>21-47</u>

#### APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION FOR THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WHEREAS, by letter dated January 22, 2021, Mayor Michael P. Victorino notified the Council that he nominated the persons listed in Exhibit "A," as attached, as members to the Maui Planning Commission for the County of Maui, in accordance with Section 2.28.010, Maui County Code, and Sections 8-8.4 and 13-2, Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended ("Charter"); and

WHEREAS, Section 13-2 of the Charter requires the Mayor's nominees to be approved by the Council; and

WHEREAS, Section 13-2(16) of the Charter requires the Council to approve or disapprove the nominations within sixty days after the Mayor submits the names of the nominees to the Council; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the County of Maui:

- 1. That it approves the appointments of the persons listed in Exhibit "B," as attached, as members to the Maui Planning Commission for the terms as specified;
- 2. That it disapproves the appointments of the persons listed in Exhibit "C" as members to the Maui Planning Commission as nominated by the Mayor;
- 3. That the Council expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the appointed members for their willingness to be considered for public service and actively participate in County government; and
- 4. That certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, the Managing Director, and the Corporation Counsel.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

/s/ Mimi Desjardins

Deputy Corporation Counsel County of Maui

great:misc:002(1)areso01:ske

#### **NOMINATED MEMBERS AND TERMS**

#### MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION

Sherrilee Dodson Ashley Lindsey

į

.

Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26 Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26

.

#### APPROVED MEMBER AND TERM

### MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION

Ashley Lindsey

à

÷

Term 4/1/21 through 3/31/26

#### **DISAPPROVED MEMBER**

## MAUI PLANNING COMMISSION

Sherrilee Dodson

i.

4

## COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF MAUI

WAILUKU, HAWAII 96793

## **CERTIFICATION OF ADOPTION**

It is HEREBY CERTIFIED that RESOLUTION NO. 21-47, was adopted by the Council of the County of Maui, State of Hawaii, on the 5th day of March, 2021, by the following vote:

MEMBERS	Alice L. LEE Chair	Keani N. W. RAWLINS- FERNANDEZ Vice-Chair	Gabriel Johnson	Natalie A. KAMA	Kelly T. KING	Michael J. MOLINA	Tamara A. M. PALTIN	Shane M. SINENCI	Yuki Lei K. SUGIMURA
ROLL CALL	Ауе	Aye	Aye	Aye	Ауе	Aye	Ауе	Aye	Aye

Carby L. Knohn

COUNTY CLERK